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DIVORCE (Including dissolution of Civil Unions)/ ANNULMENT 
 

INSTRUCTION PACKET 
 
 
 
 
For purposes of this packet, whether you are married or have entered into a civil union, 
the act of dissolving the marriage or union will be referred to as Divorce. 

 
Use the Petition for Divorce/Annulment ONLY when: 

 
• You want a divorce or annulment 

 

AND 
 

• MARRIAGES AND CIVIL UNIONS: Either you or your spouse has resided 
(lived) in Delaware for at least 6 months immediately preceding filing for 
divorce or annulment; OR Either you or your spouse has been stationed in 
Delaware as a member of the military for at least 6 months immediately 
preceding filing for divorce or annulment 

 
OR 

 
• CIVIL UNIONS ONLY: you and your spouse do not live in Delaware, your 

state of residence does not allow civil unions to be dissolved, AND your 
civil union was solemnized in Delaware. 

 
Although this packet appears to discuss only what you need to do if you want to file a 
Petition for Divorce, you should also use this packet if you want to file a Petition for 
Annulment. 

 
 
 
 

HOW TO USE THIS PACKET 
 
 
This packet contains general information about the Divorce process and basic instructions 
on how to complete the Court forms. Blank forms for your completion are at the end of 
this packet (if obtained at the Family Court Resource Center) or can be found on the 
Family Court website. 
 
You should read all of the instructions carefully before filling out any of the forms.  All of the 
forms must be neatly filled out by hand or typed. 

 
For Word versions of these forms that can be completed electronically visit the 

Court’s website at https://courts.delaware.gov/family

http://www.courts.delaware.gov/family
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YOU MAY NOT NEED TO COMPLETE ALL OF THE SECTIONS IN THIS PACKET. 
 
A paragraph at the beginning of each section will describe who should complete that 
section. Read carefully to determine if that section applies to you. ONLY complete the 
sections that apply to you. 

 
YOU DO NOT HAVE TO COMPLETE ALL THE SECTIONS AT ONCE. 
 
For example, you do not have to file the forms in Section 2 at the same time as the 
forms in Section 1.  Read the information carefully to make sure that you know what 
you are supposed to do and when to do it. 

 
 
 
SECTIONS WITH EMPHASIS 
 
While all of the information within this packet is relevant and important, there are 
sections with added emphasis that will help guide you through the instruction packet. 

 
Sections that are SHADED indicate example text 

The EYE icon indicates a section that should be read carefully  

The FILE FOLDER icon indicates a document that must be filed 

 
The STOP icon indicates either the end of a section or that items 
should be completed before continuing. 
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   TIPS AND REMINDERS 
 
 

 The laws governing divorce and annulment are found in Title 13 of the Delaware 
Code.  It will be helpful for you to read these statutes, so that you are aware of the 
law that the Court will be applying when deciding your case. The Delaware Code is 
available in the Family Court Resource Centers, public libraries throughout Delaware 
and on the internet at: https://delcode.delaware.gov 

 BE AWARE that this packet does NOT address the issues of custody, visitation or 
child support. Speak with the staff at the Family Court Resource Centers or visit the 
Family Court website for information and packets addressing these issues.  
Additional resources will contain information specific to these types of filings as well 
as the forms required by the Court. 

 Remember who is the Petitioner and who is the Respondent. 

◆ The PETITIONER is the person who files the Petition 

◆ The RESPONDENT is the person replying or responding to the Petition. 

 Remember that properly completing the forms does not guarantee that the Court 
will give the Petitioner what they are asking for.  It is up to the Petitioner and 
Respondent at the Court Hearing to prove why the Court should give the relief that 
has been requested. 

 Representing yourself may take a lot of time, may be difficult and may be confusing.  
The Court will expect you to follow the same rules that attorneys must follow. If at 
any point during the process you are unsure about representing yourself, you 
should speak with an attorney. 

 Please remember that COURT STAFF CANNOT GIVE YOU LEGAL ADVICE.  
While staff can tell you what options exist within Family Court’s jurisdiction, we 
cannot tell you which pleading you should file.  Family Court’s instruction packets, as 
well as our FAQ’s, are the best information available from the Court regarding what 
a certain filing is, what to file, and how to file. If after reviewing the Court’s resources, 
you still have questions, please contact an attorney. 

 If you would like assistance finding an attorney, or to see if you qualify for free legal 
assistance, you can visit the Delaware Volunteer Legal Services website at 
https://delegalhelplink.org 

 Always bring your photo identification. The Court will only accept either state or 
federally issued photo identification.  Primary examples are drivers licenses, state 
issued ID cards or a passport. 

https://delcode./
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ORGANIZING / MAINTAINING YOUR PAPERWORK 
 
 
Please read and remember these important tips, which will not only assist you with finding 
documentation in the future but also save you money. 
 
 
REMEMBER 

 

◆ Keep a copy of every document and Court paper. 

◆ Keep all notes, documents and Court papers 
together and organized in a folder with the most 
recent papers on top 

◆ Bring this folder with you each time you come to 
Court 

◆ When you file a document with the Court, bring 
the required number of copies of each paper and 
an extra copy for you to have “clocked in” Keep 
the clocked-in copy in your folder as proof of the 
time and date you filed each document. 

 
 
 
 

◆ Printing the required number of copies prior to coming to Court 
will save you money. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
◆ When you must mail something, we suggest that you use regular mail AND 

“certified mail, return receipt requested” so that you have proof that the other 
party received the envelope.  If you cannot afford to pay for “certified mail” we 
suggest you get a “certificate of mailing” at the post office to prove that you 
mailed the envelope to the other party.  You may purchase both small and 
medium stamped envelopes at the Resource Centers and the Court will mail 
your papers for you by regular mail. YOU are responsible for certified mail. 
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  The Divorce Process 
 
 

The Petitioner starts the Divorce 
Process by filing a Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment with the 

Court 
(Section 1) 

 
 
 
 

Respondent has 20 days after 
being served to respond to the 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment 

by filing an Answer. 
 
 

 
 

Complete Parent Education Class and File Certificate of Completion 
*WHEN APPLICABLE* 

(Section 2) 
 
 
 
 

 

File Request to Proceed 
Without a Hearing 

(Section 3) 

Date of Hearing for Divorce 
(Section 3) 

 
 
 

 
Issuance of Decree of Divorce or Annulment 

(Section 3) 
 
 

 

Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report 
Must be completed by both parties 

*WHEN APPLICABLE* 
(Section 4) 

 
 
 
 

Hearing Before a Judge 
Property Division and Alimony matters 

Requests for Counsel fees and/or Court costs 
(Section 5) 
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Section 1: 

Types of Divorce 
 
 

There are different types of divorce in Delaware.  Your divorce will be processed 
differently depending upon what type it is.  Divorces can be Contested or 
Uncontested. 

 

◆ If the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is contested, the matter will 
automatically be scheduled for a hearing.  Contested essentially means 
that the Respondent challenges material information in the petition such as 
jurisdiction or the grounds for divorce. 

◆ If the Respondent does not file an Answer within 20 days of receiving the 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment OR files an Answer agreeing with your 
request for a divorce, the petition is uncontested.  If the petition is 
uncontested the Petitioner can choose what type of divorce proceeding 
he/she would like to have 

• The Petitioner may request that the Court decide the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment based solely on the papers that are filed, without 
the parties appearing in Court for a hearing; OR 

• The Petitioner may choose to have the Court decide the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment after holding a hearing which the Petitioner 
must attend and the Respondent may but is not required to, attend. 

 
The Court will use the same standard for granting a divorce regardless of the type of 
divorce that you choose; however, different filing requirements exist for each type of 
divorce. 

 
When completing the Petition for Divorce/Annulment, the Petitioner will be asked to 
pick which type of uncontested divorce he/she would like to get IF the petition is 
uncontested.  Please read the information in this Instruction Packet carefully to help 
you determine which type of divorce you would like to choose. 

 
You may change your mind regarding which type of divorce you would like after 
you file the Petition. However, you will need to be sure that you have met all of the 
necessary requirements for filing that type of divorce. 

 

BE AWARE.  If you choose to proceed on the papers, you will not have a hearing in 
front of a Commissioner to decide whether your divorce should be granted.  
However, IF you or your spouse request that the Court divide your marital property/ 
debts and/or award alimony, you MAY still have a hearing in front of a Judge.  The 
hearing in front of a Judge on these ancillary matters CANNOT be waived, unless 
the parties settle their case prior to the scheduled hearing. 
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Starting the Process 
 
 

You MUST file the ORIGINAL and ONE (1) COPY of each form listed below with the 
Court 

 
 Form 442 - Petition for Divorce/Annulment (file original and one copy). 

 
◆ Although they are on the same petition form, Divorce and Annulment are 

separate actions.  Generally, litigants choose to file either a Petition for 
Divorce or a Petition for Annulment.  You should decide which petition is right 
for you.  If you file a Petition for Divorce, Complete Section II on the petition.  
If you file a Petition for Annulment, complete Section III.  If you choose to file 
both types of petitions, you must fill out both section II and III. You must also 
pay a filing fee for each petition. 

◆ Either you or your spouse MUST have lived in Delaware for six consecutive 
months before you can file for divorce in this State.  If neither of you have 
lived in Delaware for the past 6 months in a row, you should speak with an 
attorney to determine where the best place to file for divorce is. 
OR, if you are filing for a civil union 

• IF neither you or your spouse have ever lived in Delaware, and you 
are seeking to Divorce from a Civil Union solemnized in the State, 
you may file in Family Court in any County so long as your state of 
residence does not permit you to divorce. 

• IF neither you or your spouse currently live in Delaware and you are 
seeking a divorce from a civil union solemnized in this state, you 
must file in the county in which one or both of you last resided 

◆ When filling in the Separation Date on your petition, write down the 
MONTH, DAY and YEAR that you separated. 

◆ If your spouse is a citizen of another country or has lived in another country in 
the past two years, you must list the address of the embassy for that country. 
BE AWARE… possession of a United States green card does not make a 
person a citizen of the United States of America.  Even if your spouse has a 
green card, you must list the embassy for the country where he/she is still a 
citizen. 

◆ Before the Court will grant your divorce, you must demonstrate (indicate) 
that your marriage/civil union is irretrievably broken AND that reconciliation 
with your spouse is not probable by checking BOTH the appropriate boxes 
on the petition.  You must check both boxes before the Court will grant 
your divorce.  You must also check at least one of the reasons why your 
marriage/civil union is irretrievably broken. 

◆ Ancillary matters are actions that are dependent on the divorce action.  In other 
words, the Court cannot consider these matters apart from a Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment.  If you want the Court to grant you a property division, 
alimony, court costs, attorney fees or any other ancillary relief allowed in Title 
13, § 1507 (f), you must ask the Court to do so as part of the divorce 
proceeding before the divorce decree is entered. 
 



 

Page 10 of 25 

◆ Please note that you can only request to change YOUR name.  You may 
not request to change your spouse’s name.  You may only change your 
name to your maiden name or other former name. 

◆ The Petition for Divorce/Annulment must be notarized by a notary public or 
authorized court staff. DO NOT sign your petition until you are in the presence 
of a notary. 

 

The Separation Date that you list on the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is VERY 
IMPORTANT. Court staff will use this date to determine when your petition can be 
decided by a Commissioner. Once you have finished filling out your petition, write 
down the Separation Date that you listed in your petition in the appropriate space.  
Calculate 6 months from the date and write it in the appropriate space.  The second 
date is the earliest you can expect the Court to decide your petition unless you have 
filed on the grounds of misconduct or have filed for an annulment 

 
 

SEPARATION DATE ON 6 MONTHS FROM 
MY PETITION: SEPARATION DATE: 

 
 

MONTH DAY YEAR MONTH DAY YEAR 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 Form 240 - Information Sheet (file original and one copy) 

 
◆ This form provides the Court with general information about the parties 

which allows the Court to adequately notify the parties about upcoming 
proceedings 

 
 
 
 

 Form 441 – Vital Statistics Certificate of Divorce or Annulment OR Form 441SS – 

Vital Statistics Certificate of Divorce or Annulment of Same Sex Marriage (file 
original only) 

 
◆ This form must be filled out in black ink or typed. 

◆ This form will contain similar information to what was included on the 
Information Sheet. However, the information on this sheet is provided 
directly to the Division of Public Health and Vital Statistics for their records. 
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 A certified copy OR the original of your Marriage Certificate/Certificate of Civil 
Union 

 
 

◆ You MUST file a certified copy of your Marriage Certificate/Certificate of 
Civil Union OR the original certificate.  Both a certified copy and original 
will bear an embossed seal or watermark signifying that it is an official copy.  
You may NOT file a photocopy of an original copy without prior permission 
pursuant to motion. 

◆ A certified copy of your Marriage Certificate/Certificate of Civil Union is 
available from the Division of Public Health and Vital Statistics in the state or 
jurisdiction where you entered into the marriage/civil union. You CANNOT 
obtain a copy of your Marriage Certificate/Certificate of Civil Union at Family 
Court. 

 
 

If you do not have either your original or a certified copy of your Marriage Certificate/ 
Certificate of Civil Union, BE SURE TO OBTAIN ONE BEFORE FILING WITH THE 

COURT. 
 
 
 
 

 Form 400 - Request for Notice Form (file original and one copy) 

 
◆ On this form, you will tell the Court how you want to notify the Respondent 

about the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 

◆ If your spouse lives in Delaware and you know his/her address, you must 
ask the Court to personally serve him/her with a copy of the Petition.  This 
means that someone will deliver the Petition to your spouse at his/her home 
or workplace. 

◆ If you do not know where your spouse lives, you must ask the Court to 
publish AT YOUR EXPENSE notice of the petition in the newspaper.  You 
must also complete an Affidavit that a Party’s Address is Unknown. This 
Affidavit is included in the “Situational” forms in the next section. 

◆ If your spouse does not live in Delaware, you must ask the Court to send 
notice to your spouse by certified mail AND, AT YOUR EXPENSE, publish 
notice of the petition in the newspaper. 
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You have now reached the Situational Forms section. 
 

 
 

Each form in this section should ONLY be completed if the situation described matches 
your situation. We suggest that you review the entire list of “Situational Forms” before 
filling any of them out. Please read carefully and complete the forms that apply to you. 

 
 
 

 Form 279 - Affidavit of Children’s Rights (file original and one copy) 

 
File this form IF: Petitioner and Respondent have a child or children in common who are 
under the age of 18 

 
 

 Separation Agreement (file original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF: You and your spouse have agreed on the terms of your divorce and 
you want the Court to be able to have the power to make you and your spouse follow 
your agreement by enforcing it 

 

◆ A separation agreement is NOT a Court Form and is NOT included in the 
Forms Packet. 

◆ To file a separation agreement, you must write down how you and your 
spouse are dividing your property and/or debts and any other agreements 
(such as custody, visitation, child support, alimony etc.) that you and your 
spouse have regarding the divorce. 
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◆ At the top of the document, write the case name and file number (this is in 
the top right hand corner of the Petition for Divorce/Annulment). 

◆ Title the paper “Separation Agreement.” 

◆ BOTH you and your spouse MUST sign the Separation Agreement in the 
presence of a notary. 

◆ When you file this document, you MUST ALSO file a Stipulation to 
incorporate the Separation Agreement. 

◆ The Court will NOT review your agreement to decide if it is fair. 
 
 
 

 Form 443 - Stipulation to Incorporate the Separation Agreement Form (file original 

and one copy) 
 

File this form IF: You have a Separation Agreement and you want the Court to be able 
to enforce the Separation Agreement. 

 

◆ BOTH you and your spouse MUST sign the Stipulation to Incorporate the 
Separation Agreement in the presence of a notary. 

◆ This is to be filed at the same time as your Separation Agreement 
 
 
 

 Form 241 - Affidavit that a Party’s Address is Unknown Form (file original and one 

copy) 
 

File this form IF: You do not know where the Respondent lives 

 

◆ You must tell the Court where to notify the Respondent of the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment.  If you do not know where the Respondent currently 
lives, you must try to locate him or her.  Ways to do this include talking to 
your spouse’s friends or relatives or checking the internet.  If after looking for 
the Respondent you cannot find a current address, you must complete this 
form. 

◆ DO NOT COMPLETE this form until you have made an effort to locate the 
Respondent 

 
 
 

 Form 421 - Affidavit that a Party’s Social Security Number is Unknown (file 

original and one copy) 
 

File this form IF: You do not know the Respondent’s social security number 

 

◆ Delaware law requires that you provide the Court with both parties’ social 
security numbers. If you do not know the Respondent’s social security 
number, you must try to locate it.  Ways to do this include talking to your 
spouse or looking in financial records.  If after looking for the Respondent’s 
social security number you cannot find it, you must complete this form. 
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◆ Do not complete this form until you have made an effort to locate the 
Respondent’s social security number. 

 
 
 

 Form 420 - Waiver of Rights under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act 
(File original and one copy) 

 
File this form IF: The Respondent IS in the military. 

 

◆ If your spouse is in the military, they will need to file an Affidavit of 
Appearance, an Answer, or YOU will need to have them sign a Waiver of 
Rights under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act.  If your spouse does not 
file one of these documents or sign the waiver, YOU must file a Motion to 
Appoint an Attorney for the Respondent.  You should start this process as 
soon as possible because it takes time and the Court will not schedule your 
divorce hearing until this process is complete. 

 
 
 

 Form 465 - Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report 
 

IF you have requested any ancillary matters as part of your petition, you will 
be responsible for completing half of this form.  This form is discussed in full in 
Section 4 of this packet.  It is recommended that you wait until Section 4 to 
begin filling out this form. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Now that you have identified what, if any, situational forms relate to you, please complete 
them and submit them at the appropriate time as described by this section. 
 
 
Where to File 
Forms should be filed at the Family Court in the county where either you or your spouse 
currently lives unless: 
 

Neither you or your spouse have ever lived in Delaware, and you are seeking to 
divorce from a civil union solemnized in the State of Delaware, you may file in Family 
Court in any county if your state of residence does not permit you to divorce. 

 

Neither you or your spouse currently live in Delaware, but one or both of you have in 
the past, and you are seeking a divorce from a civil union solemnized in the State of 
Delaware, you must file in the county in which one or both of you last resided 
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◆ In Kent and Sussex Counties you may file your papers at the Resource Centers on 
the first floor of the Family Court Building 

◆ In New Castle County, you may file your papers at the Resource Center on Lower 
Level 1 (LL1) of the Leonard L Williams Justice Center. 

◆ If you file your papers by mail, the addresses for each courthouse are available on 
the Family Court website at https://courts.delaware.gov/family 

◆ The Court DOES NOT accept filings that are faxed. 

 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

A filing fee is charged for each petition that is filed.  The filing fee can differ 

depending on the type of petition you are filing.  To find out what the filing fee is, you can 

look at the Family Court website or go to the Family Court Resource Centers located in 

each courthouse.  If filing in person, the filing fee can be paid in cash, by credit 

card, by check or by money order made payable to “Family Court.” If you are filing 

by email, you may only pay by credit card.  Family Court staff will call you for credit card 

information. It is important that you include your phone number in the email 

communication to the Court.  Your petition will not be considered filed until the filing 

fee is paid.  If you are unable to pay by credit card, you may file by mail enclosing a 

check or money order with your petition. If you are filing by mail, you may only pay 

by check or money order.  

 Can the fee sometimes be waived?   

o You may be able to have the filing fees waived by the Court if your financial situation 
makes it difficult for you to pay the costs.  If you are indigent, fill out an Affidavit in 
support of Application to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (fee waiver). Form 257P. This is a 
detailed financial information form, which requires supporting documentation of your 
financial situation. 

 

FAMILY COURT WILL NOT ACCEPT YOUR PAPERS WITHOUT THE FILING FEE.  
There are additional costs if you must publish notice of this action. (See page 11 
under the Form 400 - Request for Notice for more information of when publication is 
necessary). 

 
 
 

FILING BY EMAIL 
You may also file your petition and required forms by email.  The required 

forms are those referenced beginning on page 9 in this packet.   

To file by email, you must send the petition and required forms to: 

FC_DivorceAncillary@delaware.gov.  

For more information on filing by email, please review the Civil Filing by 

Email FAQ: https://courts.delaware.gov/family/faqs 

 

https://courts.delaware.gov/family/faqs
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Your spouse has 20 days from the date of service (date that the Respondent receives 
the Petition for Divorce/Annulment or date of publication) to respond to your Petition 
for Divorce/Annulment.  Your spouse may file an Answer to your Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment on which your spouse may admit or deny any of the statements 
that you made in your petition.  On the Answer, your spouse may counterclaim for 
divorce or annulment.  A counterclaim means that your spouse is filing his/her own 
petition for Divorce/Annulment.  Your spouse may also request that the Court 
determine ancillary matters. 

 

Instead of filing an Answer, your spouse may file Form 263 - Affidavit of 
Appearance and Waiver of Rights forms. By filing an Affidavit of Appearance, your 
spouse is telling the Court that he/she does not need to be given notice of the Petition 
for Divorce/Annulment. In other words, they do not need to be served with a copy of 
the petition. The Waiver of Rights form tells the Court that your spouse does not want 
to file an Answer. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

Once all of your forms from Section 1 have been filed with the Court, proceed 
to Section 2
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Section 2: 
Parent Education Class 

 
 
Only complete this section if you and your spouse are parents of a living child(ren) in 
common up to the age of 17. 
 
 

If you and your spouse do not have children together up to the age of 17, continue on 
to Section 3. 

 
 

You MUST file the certificate below: 
 
 

 Certificate(s) of Completion of Parent Education Class 

 
 
All divorcing parents must take a Parent Education Class if they have children of the 
marriage up to the age of 17, unless the Court, upon motion, determines that participation in 
the course is deemed not necessary.  A listing of approved classes is available at the Family 
Court Resource Centers. 
 
You may motion the Court to approve a Parent Education Course that is not currently listed 
on the Court’s approved course list.  Wait until the Court grants approval of an unapproved 
class before participation because your request may be denied. 
 
Once you have completed the Parent Education Class, a Certificate(s) of Completion of 
Parent Education Class will be given to you.  You must file the ORIGINAL copy(ies) of the 
Certificate of Completion of Parent Education Class with the Family Court.  YOU CANNOT 
PROCEED WITH THE DIVORCE PROCESS UNTIL THE CERTIFICATE OF 
COMPLETION OF PARENT EDUCATION CLASS HAS BEEN FILED WITH THE COURT. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Once you have reviewed all of Section 2 and your petition becomes Trial 
Ready, proceed to Section 3 
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Section 3: 
Petition is Trial-Ready 

 

You cannot proceed with the divorce process until your Petition for Divorce/ 
Annulment becomes trial ready.  Your petition is trial ready when the following 
jurisdictional requirements have been met: 

 

◆ You and your spouse have been separated for at least 6 months, unless 
you are filing on the grounds of misconduct, then you do not have to be 
separated for any specified period of time.  However, be aware that you 
must prove any allegations of misconduct by presenting evidence of the 
misconduct to the Court before a divorce will be granted on this ground. 

◆ Your spouse was served with the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 

◆ You have completed the required Parent Education Classes and filed the 
ORIGINAL Certificate of Completion with the Court. 

 
Once your petition for Divorce/Annulment is trial-ready, you will receive a Notice from the 
Court telling you that your petition is trial-ready and that you can proceed with the divorce 
process.  The type of notification that you will receive will depend upon what type of 
divorce proceeding you requested on your petition for Divorce/Annulment.  The following 
pages will describe the type of notification you will receive and the steps that you must 
follow for each type of divorce proceeding.  Remember that you can proceed with either 
type of uncontested divorce regardless of what you selected on your petition. If you 
change your mind regarding the type of divorce proceeding that you would like to file, be 
sure to submit the appropriate papers with the Court. 

 

DIVORCE DECIDED ON THE PAPERS 
 

If the petition is uncontested and you marked on your Petition for Divorce/ Annulment 
that you wanted the Court to proceed without a hearing, solely on the papers, you will 
receive a Notice of Trial-Readiness telling you that your petition is trial-ready and 
that you have 20 days to file the following forms. 

 
 

 Form 446 - Request to Proceed without a Hearing (file original and mail one copy to 

the Respondent) 

 

◆ You must file this form within 20 days of the date on the Notice of Trial- 
Readiness (not the date you received it in the mail).  If you fail to file this 
request within the allotted time, your Petition for Divorce/Annulment will be 
scheduled for a hearing and you will have to appear in court to obtain your 
divorce. 

◆ You must attach a copy of the Notice of Trial-Readiness to your 
Request to proceed Without a Hearing. 

◆ You may NOT file this form until your Petition for Divorce/Annulment is 
trial-ready and you have received the Notice of Trial-Readiness.  If you 
file this form BEFORE you receive the Notice informing you that your 
petition is trial-ready, the matter will be scheduled for a hearing and you 
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will have to appear in court to get your divorce or annulment. 

◆ You MUST file this form with Form 447 - Affidavit in Support of the 
Request to Proceed without a Hearing. 

 
 

 Form 447 - Affidavit in Support of the Request to Proceed Without a Hearing  

         (file original and mail one copy to the Respondent) 
 
 

◆ This document MUST be filed with the Request to Proceed without a 
Hearing.  On this document, you are swearing that the information contained 
in the Petition for Divorce/Annulment and in the affidavit is true.  The Court 
will rely on this information when making a determination regarding your 
divorce petition. Be accurate and honest. 

◆ Only respond to question #5 if the Respondent IS in the military and has 
NOT responded IN ANY WAY to the Petition for Divorce/Annulment. 

◆ Delaware law requires that you and your spouse have lived “separate and 
apart” for 30 days before the Court grants a divorce.  You and your spouse 
may reside in the same house, BUT the Court cannot grant your Petition 
for Divorce if you and your spouse have occupied the same bedroom or 
had sexual relations with each other within the 30 DAYS prior to the 
Court granting your Divorce.  If you and your spouse have not lived 
separately and apart for the past 30 days, DO NOT file this affidavit. Failure 
to adhere to this requirement means that your divorce is invalid. 

Once you have properly filed the Request to Proceed without a Hearing and the 
Affidavit in Support of the Request, all of your filings will be forwarded to a 
Commissioner.  The Commissioner will decide whether to grant your petition for 
Divorce/ Annulment based upon the information contained in the papers you have 
filed. 

 
 
If the Court GRANTS your Petition for Divorce/Annulment you will receive a copy of the 
Commissioner’s Order and the Decree of Divorce/Annulment in the mail.  A copy of the 
Order and Decree will also be sent to the Respondent.  If you or your spouse have 
requested that the Court retain jurisdiction over ancillary matters, you will also receive a 
paper telling you the ancillary matters that the Court will decide. 
 
If the Court DOES NOT GRANT your divorce, two things can happen. 

 

◆ The Commissioner will deny your Petition for Divorce/Annulment if the 
statutory requirements for granting a divorce were not met and you and 
your spouse will continue to be married/united. OR 

◆ The Commissioner can schedule a hearing to take testimony and other 
evidence from the parties to determine if the statutory requirements have 
been met. If your petition for Divorce/Annulment is scheduled for a hearing, 
you will be notified by mail of the time and date of your hearing. 
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DIVORCE DECIDED AT A HEARING 
 

If the petition was uncontested and you marked on your Petition for Divorce/ 
Annulment that you wanted to proceed with a hearing OR if the Respondent 
contested the divorce petition, you will receive a Notice of Hearing notifying you of 
the date of your hearing.  You must come to Court on the day of your hearing for your 
Petition for Divorce/Annulment to be granted.  If you fail to appear at the hearing, the 
Court may dismiss your petition and you will have to start the process over and pay 
the filing fee again. 

 
If, AFTER you have received a Notice of Hearing, you change your mind and decide to 
proceed on the papers without having a hearing, you may file Form 446 – Request to 
Proceed without a Hearing and the accompanying Form 447 – Affidavit in Support of 
Request to Proceed without a Hearing anytime at least 7 days prior to the scheduled 
hearing.  You must also file a copy of the Notice of Hearing that you received from the 
Court.  You must mail a copy of the Request to Proceed without a Hearing to the other 
party and provide the Court with verification that you have done so. BE AWARE, if you file 
this request WITHIN the 7 days prior to your hearing, the Court CANNOT cancel your 
hearing and it WILL BE HELD as scheduled. You will not receive any further notification 
from the Court that your hearing is taking place as scheduled.  If you fail to appear at 
the hearing, your petition could be dismissed and you would have to start all over by filing a 
new petition and paying a new filing fee.  Be very careful to file at least 7 days prior to the 
scheduled hearing date. Assistance in calculating the date you can file is available in the 
Resource Centers in each courthouse. 
 

Complete the following form and bring it to the Court with you on the day of your 
hearing. 

 
 

 Form 405 - Affidavit of Non-Military Service 

 
◆ ONLY complete this form if the Respondent is NOT in the military. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

IF you have NOT requested ancillary relief, this is the END of the Divorce Packet. IF 
you HAVE requested ancillary relief, begin Section 4 immediately after you have 
received your Divorce Decree. 
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Section 4: 

PROPERTY DIVISION AND ALIMONY 
 

Begin Immediately After Receiving Your Divorce Decree. 
Only Complete This Section If You Or Your Spouse Requested Property Division 

And/Or Alimony. 

Form 465 - Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report is a form on which both 
spouses have to provide the Court and each other information about their 
finances.  Both parties must complete the SAME form. Pay careful attention to 
the instructions so you understand the process, which is different from that for 
other forms. The two steps for completing the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report 
are described on the following pages. 

 
The person who requested the Court make a decision on ANY of the following ancillary 
matters must complete the form first: 

 

◆ Division of marital property; 

◆ Division of marital debts; AND/OR 

◆ Payments of alimony. 
 
The person who completes the form FIRST is the “Petitioner” (for the purposes of 
completing this form ONLY), even if this person is not the person who filed the Petition for 
Divorce/Annulment. The Petitioner must complete all sections pertaining to the 
“Petitioner,” while the person who did NOT make such requests would be the 
“Respondent” and must complete all sections pertaining to the “Respondent.” 
 

If BOTH of you requested that the Court make a decision on ancillary matters, the 
person who filed the Petition for Divorce/Annulment is the “Petitioner” (for 
purposes of completing this form as well). 

 
The entire form MUST be completed. Both parties must fill out the Ancillary Financial 
Disclosure Report completely. Even if there is something that you do not want the other 
party to know you must put it on the form anyway or contact the Court by Motion 
immediately to tell the Court why you think that information should not be on the form. 
Please see the Motion Instruction Packet for more information about filing a Motion. The 
Court will decide if you must put the information on the Ancillary Financial Disclosure 
Report. DO NOT WAIT UNTIL YOUR 30 DAYS HAVE PASSED TO FILE YOUR MOTION 
WITH THE COURT. 
 

If you do not fill out the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report or if you hide property from 
your former spouse and the Court, the Court can impose the following SANCTIONS 
(penalties): 

 

◆ Order you to pay your former spouse’s attorney fees; 

◆ Accept your former spouse’s information on the form as true and ignore any 
information you may have; or 
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◆ Enter a Default Judgment or Dismissal against you. 
 
 
If neither party files the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report in a timely manner, then 
the request for the Family Court to determine the ancillary matters will be dismissed. 
 

STEP ONE 
 
 

The person who is the Petitioner for the purposes of this form has 30 days 
AFTER the date that the Divorce Decree is signed by a Commissioner to 
complete the following papers: 

 
 

 Form 465 - Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report (forward original to your spouse) 

 
◆ This is a very long form.  Allow yourself enough time to fill in all the 

necessary information carefully and accurately. 
◆ REMEMBER: only fill in the portions of the form that are labeled 

Petitioner (P). 
◆ After the Petitioner completes the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report, 

he/she must sign it in the presence of a notary. 
◆ The Petitioner must forward the ORIGINAL notarized Ancillary Financial 

Disclosure Report to the Respondent (the other party) or the 
Respondent’s attorney (if there is one). 

◆ Before forwarding the original Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report, the 
Petitioner should make a COPY of the original and retain it for his/her 
records.  This is VERY IMPORTANT in case the Respondent does not 
file the original with the Court. 

 
 

 Form 850 - Affidavit of Mailing Form (file original only) 

 
◆ AFTER the Petitioner forwards the original Ancillary Financial 

Disclosure Report to the Respondent, he/she must complete the 
Affidavit of Mailing swearing under oath that he/she mailed the 
original to the Respondent or the Respondent’s attorney, and file the 
Affidavit with the Court. 
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STEP TWO 
 
 

The person who is the RESPONDENT for the purposes of this form has 30 days 
AFTER the date of mailing (look at postage date on the Ancillary Financial Disclosure 

Report) to file the completed report: 
 

◆ The Respondent must complete their portion and sign it in the presence of a 
notary 

◆ The Respondent MUST file the ORIGINAL notarized Ancillary Financial 
Disclosure Report with the Court AND forward a copy to the Petitioner or 
the Petitioner’s Attorney (if there is one) 

 
After the Respondent forwards a copy of the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report to the 
Petitioner, he/she must complete an Affidavit of Mailing swearing under oath that he/she 
mailed a copy to the Petitioner or the Petitioner’s Attorney. 

 
 
 
 
 

If one party does not file the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report, the Family Court 
may grant a Default Judgment or Dismissal against him/her. In other words, that 
party may lose. The Court may also impose the same penalties stated above for 
not completing the form. If your former spouse fails to file Ancillary Financial Disclosure 
Report, you may be directed by the Court to file the following document. You may also 
be asked to submit a copy of the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report you filled out. 

 

Form 449 - Form of Order (file original only) 

 

◆ On this document, you tell the Judge what you would like him/her to order by 
writing a proposed order for the Judge to sign.  You must write down how 
you want the Court to divide your property/debts and/or how much alimony 
should be paid. 

◆ Be specific in what you write because the Judge may sign the Form of 
Order exactly how you have written it, making what you have written an 
enforceable Court Order. 

◆ DO NOT FILE THIS DOCUMENT UNTIL DIRECTED BY THE COURT TO 
DO SO. This document is only filed IF your former spouse fails to file the 
Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report in a timely manner. 

 
If you have tried to finish the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report Form but you 
cannot, you may ask that the Court give you more time by filing a Motion. Motion forms 
are available in the Resource Centers. It is up to the Court to decide whether you will 
get more time and you must have a good reason for the request. Not completing 
the Ancillary Financial Disclosure Report because you did not feel like doing it or you did 
not find the time to complete it, is not a good reason and the Court probably will not 
give you more time. 
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When you have finished reviewing this section, continue on to Section 5, which 
describes the next events in the process. 
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Section 5: 

ANCILLARY HEARING WITH A JUDGE 
 
 

If you or your former spouse requested that the Court determine property division, 
alimony, counsel fees, court costs and/or any other ancillary relief allowed 
in Title 13, § 1507 (f), these matters will be scheduled for a hearing before a 
Judge. The hearing will be scheduled AFTER the Ancillary Financial Disclosure 
Report is completed by both parties and filed with the Court. The Court will notify 
you by mail of the date of your hearing. 

 
Prior to your final hearing, the Court may schedule a case management conference and 
a pre-trial conference. The Court will notify you if a case management conference or 
a pre-trial conference will be held. You may also be required to submit additional 
information regarding your finances to the Court. 
 
If you do not comply with the Court’s request for additional information, the Court may 
impose the following SANCTIONS (penalties): 

 

◆ Continue the hearing; 

◆ Accept your former spouse’s information as true and ignore any 
information you may have; or 

◆ Order you to pay your former spouse’s attorney fees; or 

◆ Dismiss the case. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This concludes the Divorce (including Dissolution of Civil Union) and Annulment 
Instruction Packet 


