Delaware State Courts
   home | feedback 
Delaware State Courts.  The Official Website of the Delaware Judiciary
Delaware State Courts
CCP seal

 Court of Common  Pleas Home

 Message from the
 Chief Judge


 Judicial Officers






 Mission Statement


 Hours and Locations

Judicial Officers

There are nine Judges of the Court of Common Pleas statewide. Five Judges are residents of New Castle County, two Judges are residents of Kent County, and two Judges are residents of Sussex County. Each Judge is nominated by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for a term of 12 years. To be nominated for the position, each Judge must have been actively engaged in the general practice of law in the State of Delaware for at least five years and must be a citizen of the State. A majority of not more than one Judge may be from the same political party. The same process is used to appoint the Chief Judge.

The Court has two Commissioners, one assigned to New Castle County, and the second Commissioner for Kent and Sussex Counties. The Commissioners have the power to accept pleas, conduct preliminary hearings, petitions for change of name and other non case-dispositive matters.


CCP Judges




    Chief Judge Alex J. Smalls
    Judge John K. Welch
    Judge Rosemary Betts Beauregard
    Judge Kenneth S. Clark, Jr.
    Judge Charles W. Welch, III
    Judge Anne Hartnett Reigle
    Judge Robert H. Surles
    Judge Carl C. Danberg
    Judge Sheldon K. Rennie


CCP Commissioners





Commissioner Mary M. McDonough
Commissioner Abby L. Adams