FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE September 19, 2023

The Honorable Abigail M. LeGrow sworn in as Delaware Supreme Court Justice

The Honorable Abigail M. LeGrow was formally sworn in for her first term as Justice of the Delaware Supreme Court on Tuesday, September 19, 2023 at 2 p.m. in Courtroom 7E at the Leonard L. Williams Justice Center in Wilmington.

Delaware Supreme Court Chief Justice Collins J. Seitz, Jr. welcomed the crowd and Governor John C. Carney, Jr. and retired Superior Court Judge Andrea Rocanelli offered remarks. Retired Supreme Court Justice Jack B. Jacobs then administered the oath of office. Justice LeGrow is now the fourth woman to serve on the state's highest court.

Prior to her nomination to the Supreme Court, Justice LeGrow had served as a judge on the Delaware Superior Court for seven years. She also served as a Master in Chancery (now called Magistrate) on the Delaware Court of Chancery from October 2011 until February 2016, when she was named to the Superior Court.

Prior to joining the bench, Justice LeGrow practiced law at Potter Anderson & Corroon LLP, where she specialized in corporate and commercial litigation. She is also a member of the Richard S. Rodney American Inn of Court, serving as its president from 2021 to 2023.

Justice LeGrow received her J.D., summa cum laude, from the Pennsylvania State University Dickinson School of Law and her B.A. in Political Science, summa cum laude, from Susquehanna University. While in law school, Justice LeGrow was an editor of the Penn State Law Review and a recipient of the Walter Harrison Hitchler Award and the American Bankruptcy Law Journal Prize. After graduating from law school, she served as a law clerk to Justice Jacobs.