ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE OF THE CHIEF JUDGE OF THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS FOR THE STATE OF DELAWARE

NO. 2006-1

JUDICIAL BRANCH AUTHORIZED USE POLICY FOR THE COMMUNICATIONS AND COMPUTER SYSTEMS

This 17th day of October 2006,

IT APPEARS THAT:

- (1) On September 22, 2006, the Supreme Court adopted Administrative Directive 159, the <u>Judicial Branch Authorized Use Policy for the Communications and Computer Systems</u> ("Authorized Use Policy").
- (2) The purpose of the Authorized Use Policy is to ensure the security of the computer network and the integrity of the data stored on the State Systems, and to provide users with written notice of what constitutes acceptable and non-acceptable use of communications and computer systems, including those circumstances when personal use is acceptable.
- (3) The Supreme Court has directed each court within the Judicial Branch to implement this Authorized Use Policy within 30 days from the date of the Administrative Directive.

NOW THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, that:

(A) In accordance with Supreme Court Administrative Directive 159, the Court of Common Pleas adopts and implements the Authorized Use Policy attached hereto.

(B) The Authorized Use Policy supersedes the Court of Common Pleas <u>Electronic</u>

<u>Technology Telecommunications Policy</u>, and will remain in effect until canceled or superseded. All Court personnel are directed to replace the <u>Electronic Technology Telecommunications Policy</u> with the Authorized Use Policy in the <u>Court of Common Pleas Policies and Procedures Manual</u> behind Tab 16.

(C) After reviewing the policy, all Court personnel, including judicial officers, are required to complete the Delaware Judicial Branch Authorized Use Policy Agreement Form acknowledging that they have read and agree to abide by this policy and return it to the Clerk of the Court located in the county where employed within five (5) business days of the date of this directive. The forms shall be maintained in the personnel file of each respective employee or judicial officer.

/s/ Alex J. Smalls Chief Judge

cc: Judge Bradley

Judge James

Judge John Welch

Judge Flickinger

Judge Trader

Judge Beauregard

Judge Clark

Judge Charles Welch

Commissioner McDonough

Commissioner Maybee

Carole B. Kirshner, Court Administrator

Deborah Mowbray, Clerk of Court

Theresa Sama

Michelle Jackson

Kathy Holstein

Karen Gallagher

Teresa Lindale

Wanda Smith