ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 158

This 15th day of December 2004

IT APPEARS THAT:

(1) On April 10, 2001 and December 6, 2002 respectively, Administrative Directive No. 129 with attached protocol and Administrative Directive No. 145 with a modified protocol attached were promulgated for the purpose of distributing *pro hac vice* funds through a grant application process. These funds were acquired from assessments charged to attorneys who were not members of the Delaware Bar for *pro hac vice* appearances in various courts in this State.

(2) Under the protocol, these funds have been distributed, in the discretion of the Delaware Supreme Court, for the purpose of governance of the Bar and the administration of justice, pursuant to DELAWARE SUPREME COURT RULE 71(b)(vi).

(3) While the Court has approved many meritorious *pro hac vice* grant applications to various courts and agencies in the past, the Court has concluded that the funds, in the future, will be distributed to fund the following Arms of the Supreme Court:
(a) the Office of Disciplinary Counsel; (b) the Lawyers' Fund for Client Protection; and
(c) the Continuing Legal Education Commission. This funding will enable the Court to govern the Bar and regulate the practice of law in Delaware through the Arms of the Supreme Court.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to DEL. CONST. ART. IV, §13(1), that:

Effective immediately, Administrative Directives Nos. 129 and 145 with attached protocols are hereby rescinded. All future funds generated by *pro hac vice* assessments

shall be distributed to fund the Arms of the Supreme Court unless otherwise ordered by the Court. However, continuous grants, previously approved before these Administrative Directives were rescinded, will continue to receive funding until further determination by the Court.

Chief Justice Myron T. Steele

cc: The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner The Honorable Randy J. Holland The Honorable Carolyn Berger The Honorable Jack B. Jacobs The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely Members of the Judicial Conference The Honorable M. Jane Brady The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan Carl Schnee, Esquire Court Administrators Clerk of the Supreme Court Counsel to the Governor Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee Chair, House Judiciary Committee