ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 126

This 1st day of September 2000,

IT APPEARS THAT:

- (1) The Delaware Supreme Court has not had a formally designated position of Supreme Court Administrator since April 30, 1999. Various staff members have undertaken the Court's administrative functions.
- (2) To increase the Court's efficiency and the expeditious processing of the Court's administrative matters, it is desirable to make clear assignments of duties and reporting responsibilities for all the Court's administrative functions.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court pursuant to the Delaware Constitution, art. IV, § 13(1) effective September 1, 2000, as follows:

(A) Cathy L. Howard, as Clerk of the Supreme Court, will continue to carry out her responsibilities as Clerk as set forth in Supreme Court Rule 91(a)

including the responsibility to supervise the staff of the Clerk's Office in Dover and other Supreme Court clerical personnel.

- (B) Gayle P. Lafferty, Esquire, shall continue to carry out her responsibilities as Counsel to the Chief Justice and as Chief Staff Attorney to the Supreme Court (including the duties set forth in Supreme Court Rule 91(b)). In particular, she is hereby assigned the following specific responsibilities:
 - (i) legal advice and counsel to the Chief Justice on all legal issues requested by the Chief Justice relating to the administrative duties of the Office of the Chief Justice;
 - (ii) supervision of all staff attorneys of the Supreme Court;
 - (iii) administrative supervision and training of all Supreme Court law clerks, Wolcott clerks and interns, to the extent such supervision and training is requested by the Justices to whom each law clerk, Wolcott clerk and intern is assigned;
 - (iv) legal assistance to each of the Justices in connection with their adjudicative responsibilities including those relating to the judicial review by the Supreme Court of decisions of the Board on Professional Responsibility and the Board on Unauthorized Practice of Law:
 - (v) co-chair of and staff liaison to the Permanent Advisory Committee on Supreme Court Rules under Supreme Court Rule 94;
 - (vi) staff liaison to the Permanent Advisory Committee on the Delaware Uniform Rules of Evidence under Supreme Court Rule 95;

- (vii) staff liaison to the Advisory Committee on Litigation Ethical Problems under Supreme Court Rule 85;
- (viii) staff assistance in connection with law-related education; and
- (ix) other responsibilities as the Court deems appropriate.
- (C) Stephen D. Taylor, Deputy State Court Administrator, is hereby designated the Chief Administrative Officer of the Supreme Court on a temporary and part-time basis. This designation is in addition to his other duties for the Administrative Office of the Courts and any additional duties for other courts to which he may be assigned by the Chief Justice. Mr. Taylor will be responsible for all administrative matters for the Supreme Court, not otherwise assigned in paragraphs (A) and (B) of this Directive. His responsibilities for the Supreme Court shall include, but not be limited to, the following:
 - (i) budgetary and financial matters;
 - (ii) personnel;
 - (iii) technology;
 - (iv) media and public inquiries;
 - (v) facilities;
 - (vi) supplies;
 - (vii) maintenance and housekeeping;

- (viii) staff liaison with the Arms of Court not covered in paragraph (B);
- (ix) supervision of the Clerk of Court;
- (x) staff liaison to the Administrative office of the Courts;
- (xi) participation in the Council of Administrators under Administrative Directive No. 122; and
- (xii) other administrative matters as the Court deems appropriate.
- (D) The Chief Administrative Officer and the Counsel to the Chief Justice/Chief Staff Attorney shall report to the Chief Justice. The Clerk of the Court shall report to the Chief Administrative Officer.

The Court's organizational chart dated April 2000 is hereby (E) rescinded, and the attached organizational chart becomes effective upon the issuance of this Administrative Directive.

Chief Justice

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Members of the Judicial Conference cc:

The Honorable Joseph T. Walsh The Honorable M. Jane Brady

The Honorable Randy J. Holland The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan

The Honorable Carolyn Berger Michael E. McLaughlin The Honorable Myron T. Steele Court Administrators

Clerk of the Supreme Court

U:\BMAIL\INBOX\AWHITMAN\TEMP\DIR-126.WPD