FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 26, 2007

SUPREME COURT JUSTICE RANDY J. HOLLAND RECEIVES THE AMERICAN INNS OF COURT'S A. SHERMAN CHRISTENSEN AWARD

The Honorable Randy J. Holland of the Supreme Court of Delaware received the prestigious American Inns of Court's A. Sherman Christensen Award on Saturday, October 20, 2007 at the United States Supreme Court in Washington, D.C. The award, given in the name of the founder of the first American Inn of Court, is bestowed upon a member of an American Inn of Court who has provided distinguished, exceptional and significant leadership to the American Inns of Court movement. The award was presented at the American Inns of Court Celebration of Excellence, hosted by Supreme Court Justice Samuel A. Alito, Jr. in the Great Hall of the Supreme Court. Previous award winners have included Chief Justice Warren Burger, the Honorable Patrick E. Higginbotham of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, the Honorable Howard T. Markey of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, and Professor Sherman L. Cohn of Georgetown University School of Law.

Justice Holland is a founding member and past president of the Terry-Carey Inn of Court and the first State Supreme Court Justice to join the Board of Trustees of the Inns of Court Foundation where he served as President from 2000 to 2004. Justice Holland is recognized as being largely responsible for the current structure of the American Inns of Court and for his tireless efforts to build a lasting relationship with the English and Irish Inns of Court. Justice Holland recently co-authored a highly acclaimed book Middle Temple Lawyers and the American Revolution. In addition to his work with the American Inns of Court, Justice Holland has chaired the National Advisory Committee to the American Judicature Society's Center for Judicial Ethics and was past chair of the American Bar Association's National Joint Committee on Lawyer Regulations. Justice Holland's supporters for this award included the Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, United States Supreme Court Justice David H. Souter, and retired United States Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor, who stated that one "cannot imagine a better nomination" for this prestigious award because of Justice Holland's complete devotion "to the goals of the American Inns of Court." Those goals include fostering "excellence in professionalism, ethics, civility and legal skills" of attorneys.

Justice Holland is a graduate of Swarthmore College and the University of Pennsylvania School of Law, *cum laude*. He has a Master of Laws from the University of Virginia and an honorary Doctor of Laws from the Widener University School of Law. He is in his second twelve year term on the Delaware Supreme Court.

Other Delaware jurists providing significant support to the work of the American Inns of Court include Judge Thomas L. Ambro, U.S. Court of Appeals, Third Circuit, and

Justice Henry duPont Ridgely, Delaware Supreme Court, who both serve as trustees on the Board of Trustees of the Inns of Court Foundation.

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT:

STEPHEN TAYLOR, COURT ADMINISTRATOR OF THE DELAWARE SUPREME COURT 302-577-8742