
IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF DELAWARE

IN AND FOR KENT COUNTY

STATE OF DELAWARE, :
: I.D. No. 1206022223

v. :
:

DONTA K. PRESIDENT, :
:

Defendant. :

Submitted: December 11, 2013
Decided: January 2, 2014

ORDER

Upon Defendant’s Motion for Relief from
Sex Offender Designation.

Denied.

Lindsay A. Taylor, Esquire, Department of Justice, Dover, Delaware; attorney for the
State.

John R. Garey, Esquire of John R. Garey, P.A., Dover, Delaware; attorney for the
Defendant.

WITHAM, R.J.
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1 See 11 Del. C. § 4121(d)(3).

2 11 Del. C. § 4121(d)(6).
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This is the Court’s decision concerning Defendant’s Motion for Relief from

Sex Offender Designation.

BACKGROUND

Defendant Donta President (hereinafter “Defendant”) has pled nolo contendere

to four counts of Unlawful Sexual Contact in the Third Degree, which would

normally result in a Tier I sex offender designation.1  The victim in this case was 11

years old at the time of the offense.  Defendant subsequently filed a Motion for Relief

from Sex Offender Designation.  

The Court held a hearing on November 15, 2013 to determine whether to grant

Defendant’s motion.  The Court was presented with evidence including: a

psychosexual evaluation completed by the Resources for Human Development, a

psychological report completed by Dr. Stephen Eichel, and the results of Defendant’s

polygraph examination.  Counsel for Defendant noted that Defendant had

successfully completed his required sex offender counseling.  Initially, the State

raised no specific challenge to Defendant’s motion and left the matter to the Court’s

discretion.

DISCUSSION

11 Del. C. § 4121(d)(6) provides defendants the opportunity to petition the

Court for relief from sex offender designation, if certain prerequisites are met.2  The

statute provides in pertinent part:
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3 Id. (emphasis added).

4 State v. E.A., 2010 WL 5692095, at *4-5 (Del. Fam. Ct. Feb. 4, 2010) (“it is not clear
whether the ‘Tier II or Tier III qualification’ in the statute provides that a person may not seek relief
for any Tier I offense or that any person designated to Tier I may seek relief. . . .”); Fletcher v. State,
2008 WL 2912048, at *27 (Del. Fam. Ct. June 16, 2008) (“there is no provision that permits a Tier
I, the lowest level offender, from being relieved from designation.”).

3

Notwithstanding any provision in this section or in § 4120 of this
title to the contrary, any person who would otherwise be
designated as a sex offender pursuant to this section and to § 4120
of this title may petition the sentencing court for relief from such
designation, and from all obligations imposed by this section and
§ 4120 of this title, if:
a. The Tier II or Tier III offense for which the person was
convicted was a misdemeanor and the victim was not a child
under 13 years of age;
. . . .Notwithstanding anything in this paragraph to the contrary,
no person designated as a Tier II or Tier III sex offender shall be
afforded relief from designation as a sex offender if the victim of
any of the offenses for which the person was convicted were less
than 12 years old at the time of the crime. . . .3

The Court finds that the language of this provision creates two issues in this case.

First, the provision makes no mention of Tier I offenses, and twice makes explicit

reference only to Tier II and Tier III offenses.  The Court is unaware of any case law

on whether a defendant can petition for relief under this provision when the offense

is a Tier I misdemeanor.  Further, the Family Court, in two separate decisions, has

noted that this provision is ambiguous as to whether relief can be granted for Tier I

offenses.4  

Thus, it is unclear from the face of the statute whether, as a presumptive Tier
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I offender, Defendant can even petition for relief under this provision in the first

place.  The Court notes that, during the hearing on November 15, the Court stated that

§ 4121(d)(6) is the applicable standard in this case, and neither party raised an

objection to this statement.  Notwithstanding this, if the statute truly does not grant

the sentencing judge the discretion to relieve Defendant from Tier I designation, the

Court cannot do so, unless there is case law that indicates otherwise, or another

statutory provision which grants the Court the authority to grant relief.  

The second issue implicated in this case by the language of § 4121(d)(6) is the

age of the victim.  The victim in this case was 11 years old at the time of the offense.

Subdivision (a) of the statute explicitly states that relief shall not be granted if the

victim was less than 13 years of age, and later on states that relief will not be afforded

if the victim was less than 12 years of age at the time of the crime.  Thus, even if the

statute does provide this Court the discretion to relieve Defendant from Tier I

designation, these seemingly unambiguous age requirements appear to prevent the

Court from exercising that discretion in the instant case based on the victim’s age.

Based on the foregoing, this Court requested memoranda from Defendant and

the State on: (1) whether § 4121(d)(6) grants the Court discretion in affording

Defendant relief from sex offender designation for Tier I offenses; and (2) whether

the Court, if it does have such discretion, can ignore the statutory language stating

that relief shall not be granted when the victim is under 12 years of age at the time of

the offense.  

As to the first issue, the State points out that Unlawful Sexual Contact in the

Third Degree used to be a Tier II offense, and was redesignated by the legislature as
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a Tier I offense.  The State also acknowledges that § 4121(d)(6) makes little sense as

written regarding misdemeanor sex offenses.  The State suggests that this Court

redesignate Defendant’s offense as a Tier II offense in order to “rectify the clear

disharmony” of the statutory language and account for the legislature’s “oversight”

when it redesignated Unlawful Sexual Contact in the Third Degree as a Tier I offense.

Defendant also argues that when Unlawful Sexual Contact in the Third Degree was

redesignated, § 4121(d)(6) was not modified to reflect that change.  Defendant also

encourages the Court to assume an oversight on the part of the legislature and sua

sponte redesignate Defendant’s offense as a Tier II offense.  

It appears that the parties may have misconstrued the Court’s first question,

which was simply whether § 4121(d)(6) can generally be applied to grant relief for

Tier I offenses.  Based on the parties’ response, it seems that the answer is “no.”  The

parties request that this Court make an assumption as to the intent of the legislature

and attempt a sua sponte workaround of the language of § 4121(d)(6).  The Court is

not in a position to do that.  As currently written, the statute does not allow the Court

to grant relief. 

As to the second issue, the State contends that the provisions of § 4121(d)(6)

pertaining to the victim’s age are clear on their face, and that the Court is prohibited

from allowing relief in this case because the victim was 11 years old at the time of the

offense.  Defendant argues that these provisions are ambiguous given the separate

references to 13 years of age and 12 years of age, and that in any event victim’s age

requirement is arbitrary and capricious in nature.

Assuming arguendo that § 4121(d)(6) allows this Court to grant relief to
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Defendant, the Court is prohibited from granting relief in this instance due to the

victim’s age.  Defendant is correct that the statute’s reference to two separate ages can

create some modicum of confusion, but it is only slight.  The statute unambiguously

provides that relief shall not be granted if the victim is under 12 years of age.  Here,

the victim was 11 years old at the time of the offense.  Thus, the Court is prohibited

from granting relief to Defendant based on the age of the victim.

CONCLUSION

This case represents why this statute should be revisited, as there is a need to

rectify the clear ambiguity that exists with regards to relief for Tier I offenses.

However, the statute’s unambiguous provision that relief shall not be granted if the

victim is under 12 years of age at the time of the offense prevents this Court from

granting relief to Defendant.  Accordingly, Defendant’s Motion for Relief from Sex

Offender Designation is DENIED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ William L. Witham, Jr.            
Resident Judge

oc: Prothonotary
xc: Lindsay A. Taylor, Esquire

John R. Garey, Esquire
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