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VIOLATIONS APPEALED IN JUSTICE OF THE PEACE COURT (RED
CLAY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT SCHOOL BUS SAFETY
CAMERA PILOT PROGRAM)

Scope:

This Policy Directive explains the statutory penalties and costs the Court may assess
against motorists who overtake or pass a school bus that is stopped and displaying flashing lamps
to take on or discharge school children if such violation is evidenced by information obtained
from camera monitoring systems operated by the Red Clay Consolidated School District’s
(hereinafter, “the District”) Bus Safety Camera Pilot Program.

Justice of the Peace Court Policy:

School bus safety camera civil violations evidenced by information from District-
operated camera monitoring systems shall proceed under Ch. 80 of Title 14 of the Delaware

Code.!

I Title 14 of the Delaware Code, Ch. 80 authorizes the Red Clay Consolidated School District to participate in a
pilot program with the intended purpose of improving safety for its students and the public by reducing the number



School bus safety camera civil violations shall be heard in Justice of the Peace Court 20,
which is the Court location that serves the geographical area in which the District is Jocated.?
The Court shall schedule trials with the District and its Vendor (Gateway, the camera servicer)
for all defendants requesting an appeal. The Vendor shall process and forward untimely-filed
appeals to the Court in the same manner as they process and forward timely-filed appeal
requests. In addition, if a defendant comes directly to the Court, before or after receiving a late
notice from the vendor, the judge or court clerk shall instruct the defendant to file a motion with
the Vendor requesting an appeal.

The civil penalty for school bus camera civil violations is $100 for a first offense which
shall increase to $500 for each subsequent offense that occurs within 10 years of a prior offense.’
These cases are not permitted to be transferred to the Court of Common Pleas.* Although the
statute provides for a right of appeal to the Court of Common Pleas, as set forth in the discussion
below, there is no circumstance that will trigger that right to appeal.

In addition to the fine, the Court may assess court and administrative costs not to exceed
$35 when the owner or operator requests a hearing to contest the violation and is ultimately
found or pleads responsible for the violation.’ In order to not exceed that cap, the Court may
order regular court costs up to $25 and shall order a $10 assessment for the Court Security Fund
as part of total court costs of the permitted maximum of $35.6 No additional fees are authorized.

Appeals of school bus camera violations shall be prosecuted by authorized District
personnel.” The District has appointed an employee who will attend all appeal hearings to testify
and present evidence supporting its claim that a violation occurred. The District employee will
serve the same function that a police officer does in the Police Prosecution Process. The
Department of Justice has authorized the District to perform this function on its behalf.

Policy Directives/Legal Memoranda Affected

This Directive affects no other Justice of the Peace Court Policy Directives.

Effective Date:

This policy shall take effect immediately and shall continue until further notice.

of motorists who overtake or pass a school bus that is stopped and displaying flashing lamps to take on or discharge
school children.

2 See 14 Del. C. §8003(f).

3 See 14 Del.C. § 8003(c).

4 See 14 Del.C. § 8003(f).

3 1d.

6 J.P. Court Crim. R. 58 (c) as permitted by 14 Del.C. § 8003(c).

7 See 14 Del. C. § 8001 (2) and 14 Del. C. § 8003 (h) “...by a technician that is Red Clay Consolidated School
District personnel authorized to impose assessments pursuant to this section.”
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Discussion:

Although the School Bus Safety Camera Pilot Program was designed to mirror the civil
violation process for Red Light Camera civil violations, there are some important distinctions.
First, the School Bus Safety Camera Pilot Program exists in Title 14. Accordingly, no fees
assessed for violations of Title 21 are applicable. Additionally, the School Bus Camera Safety
Pilot Program expressly prohibited any fees above and beyond court costs of $35 in the plain
language of 14 Del. C. § 8003(c), “No assessments and court costs other than those specified in
this subsection may be imposed.” As this law was enacted by the Legislature and signed by the
Governor on June 30, 2021, it was enacted with full knowledge of the panoply of potentially
applicable fees it waived.

Another distinctive feature of the Red Clay Consolidated District School Bus Safety
Camera Pilot Program is that appeals of civil violations will be prosecuted by Red Clay
Consolidated District employees. The Legislature was clear that such personnel does not include
«q law enforcement officer” or “an employee or contractor providing educational services within
a Department of Correction or Division of Youth Rehabilitative Services Facility”.® The District
must appoint an employee to prosecute these claims on its behalf. Although the District’s
employee is unlikely to be a licensed Delaware attorney, the Department of Justice has
authorized District personnel to prosecute these cases as part of its executive authority.

When a motor vehicle passes a stopped school bus that is displaying flashing red lamps,
the registered owner of the vehicle will receive in the mail a notice from the Vendor advising
them of the matter, time, and place by which liability as alleged in the notice may be contested,
as well as the consequences for failure to timely pay or failure to timely contest the allegations.
The owner may then pay the charged fine by voluntary assessment (an option provided by the
Vendor), contest the civil violation in the Justice of the Peace Court, file an affidavit stating that
they were not the operator of the vehicle at the time of the alleged offense, or provide a police
report alleging that the vehicle was reported stolen at the time of the offense. Failure to timely
perform any of those options will result in the owner being “non-compliant”. The Vendor will
then forward the owner’s information to the Delaware Division of Motor Vehicles (“DMV™)
resulting in the inability of the owner to re-register the vehicle until the fines are paid and
possibly the loss of their driver’s license.

Cited vehicle owners are presumed to be in violation of Title 14, Chapter 80 of the
Delaware Code in the same manner as provided for in § 7003 of Title 21 (vehicles discovered in
a Fire Lane). In other words, the violation is presumed to attach to the registered owner of the
vehicle unless the owner can furnish evidence that the vehicle was, at the time of the violation, in
the care, custody, or control of another person. The presumption® shall be rebutted if the
owner/operator:

8 See 14 Del. C. § 8001(2).
® Presumption set forth in 14 Del. C. § 8003(i)



1. Timely provides either:

a. An affidavit stating that the owner was not the operator of the vehicle at the
time of the alleged violation and provides the name and address of the person
or company who leased, rented, or otherwise had the care, custody, or control
of the vehicle; or

b. Attaches a certified copy of a police report showing that the vehicle or license
plate(s) thereof had been reported to the police as stolen prior to the time of
the alleged violation; or

2. Provides proof in Court that the registered owner was not the operator of the vehicle
at the time of the alleged violation.'

If the vehicle owner does not timely respond to the summons in one of the prescribed
ways set forth above, the Vendor will submit a report to the DMV. The DMV has statutory
authority to refuse to renew the registration of the owner’s vehicle cited in the violation.'!
Furthermore, the DMV has the statutory authority to suspend the license of an owner/operator if
they fail to pay as ordered by the Court, after receiving notice from DELIJIS that:

1) the Court has found the owner/operator responsible;

2) the owner/operator has pled responsible at the time of trial; or

3) the Court has ordered a default judgment against the ownetr/operator for a failure to
appear at the scheduled trial.'?

Any owner/operator receiving a summons from the Vendor may request a hearing to
contest the civil violation in the Justice of the Peace Court by notifying, in writing, the School
District, within twenty (20) days of the date on the summons. Proof of a civil violation shall be
evidenced by information obtained from a school bus signal violation monitoring system which
is submitted by District personnel and attested to by an employee of the Vendor. The allegation
must be proved based upon inspection of photographs, videotape, or other recorded images
produced by a school bus signal violation monitoring system.

14 Del.C. Sec. 8003(k) provides a right of appeal from a finding of responsible by the
Justice of the Peace Court “only in those cases in which the civil penalty imposed exceeds
$500...” The statute further provides that late fees shall be included in the calculation.'?
However, the highest fine available is $500, and late fees are reset upon an owner’s request to

10 G0 21 Del.C. § 7003(b).

1121 Del. C. §4101(d)(8).

12/ 14 “If the owner or an operator identified by the owner is found responsible at a hearing and fails to pay as
ordered by the Court, or requests a hearing and fails to appear, the Division of Motor Vehicles shall suspend the
license of the owner or operator.”

13 71 Del. C. § 4101(d)(12). “Additional penalty assessments for late payment/response pursuant to paragraph (d)(3)
of this section shall be included in determining the amount of the civil penalty for purposes of determining the right
to an appeal.
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contest the civil violation. Accordingly, there is no practical right of appeal as the penalty will
never exceed $500 after a hearing.

This violation is equivalent to the crime of overtaking or passing a school bus set forth in
21 Del. C. §4166(d)(i). Please note, however, that this violation should not be confused with
criminal charges issued by a police officer under 21 Del. C. §4166. Only violations issued by the
District under Title 14 are within the purview of the Justice of the Peace Court. The crime of
overtaking or passing a school bus may be plead to in the Justice of the Peace Court, but is tried
in the Court of Common Pleas.'*

Conclusion:

For school bus camera civil violations, the Court hears contests under 14 Del.C. Ch. 80.
On a finding or an admission of responsibility, the Court shall assess a civil penalty of $100 for a
first violation and $500 for each subsequent violation within 10 years of a prior violation. The
court costs and assessments permitted following a finding or admission of responsibility are up
to $35 court costs, which will typically include $25 court costs and a $10 assessment for the
Court Security Fund.

The amounts that a judge may assess for school bus safety camera civil violations are
summarized in the chart below:

State:

Civil Penalty $100 first violation; $500 for each subsequent
violation within 10 years of a prior violation

Court Costs Up to $25

Court Security Fund $10

No fee may be charged for the following:
Transportation Trust Fund

VCF

DELIJIS

Videophone

Fund to Combat Violent Crime
Ambulance Fee

cc: Honorable Collins J. Seitz, Jr.
Honorable Kathaleen S. McCormick
Honorable Jan R. Jurden
Honorable Carl C. Danberg
Honorable Michael K. Newell
Gayle P. Lafferty, State Court Administrator

14 See LM 81-73.
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