## **ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 153**

This 29<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2004,

## IT APPEARS THAT:

(1) Under Administrative Directive No. 136, dated January 9, 2002, the Court Resources Task Force was created and charged with various missions designed to accomplish the following:

The overall goal of the Task Force will be to assure that modern business and management techniques prevalent in the private sector are being applied to the management and functioning of the Judicial Branch of government.

- (2) The Task Force presented its Final Report to the Chief Justice on November 26, 2002.
- (3) Some of the recommendations of the Report have been implemented. See, *e.g.*, Administrative Directive No. 144 dated November 27, 2002, designating Justice Randy J. Holland as Liaison to the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC).

- (4) Other recommendations require further consideration. This Administrative Directive relates to one of those recommendations.
- (5) The Final Report calls for the appointment of "a permanent pro bono advisory committee to succeed the Court Resources Task Force ... to assist the Judiciary in addressing administrative and business concerns." (See Exec. Summary at p. 12.)
- (6) This advisory committee should be a diverse "Blue Ribbon" committee of respected and knowledgeable business, legal and community leaders.
- (7) The committee shall be responsible for assisting the Chief Justice, the Delaware Supreme Court, the trial courts and the AOC in reviewing and recommending the strategy and phasing of the implementation of the recommendations of the Court Resources Task Force.
- (8) Working in coordination with the Chief Justice, the committee is expected to advise the courts and the AOC on modern business and management techniques.
- (9) One of the goals of the committee should be to recommend cost-saving practices in the administrative functions of the Judicial Branch.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED**, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Delaware Constitution, art. IV, § 13(1) that:

- (A) Effective immediately the Permanent Advisory Committee on Administrative Efficiency in the Judicial Branch (the "Committee") is hereby created.
- (B) It shall be the responsibility of the Committee to advise the courts of such businesslike and cost-saving techniques as may come to the attention of, or be developed by, the Committee and to advise the courts with respect to such techniques that are referred to the Committee by the courts.
- (C) The Committee shall confer, to the extent feasible, with the appropriate committees or sections of the Delaware State Bar Association in connection with its advice and recommendations to the courts or the AOC.
- (D) Upon request of the courts or the AOC, the Committee shall assist in the implementation of these techniques.
- (E) The Committee shall initially be composed of not more than 15 lawyers and laypersons with terms not exceeding 3 years. Additional members may be appointed in the discretion of the Chief Justice. The members initially appointed to the Committee shall have staggered terms, so that approximately one-third of the terms will expire each year. Any member appointed to less than a 3-year term may be reappointed to a full three-year term or such shorter term as may be determined by the Chief Justice. The members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Chief Justice with the approval of a majority of the Supreme Court.

(F) The following members of the Committee are hereby appointed to the respective initial terms set forth:

R. Franklin Balotti, Esquire, Chair	1 year
Lance L. Weaver, Vice Chair	2 years
David G. Burton	3 years
Robert L. Byrd	1 year
Sally V. Hawkins	3 years
D. Wayne Holden	1 year
The Honorable Orlando J. George, Jr.	2 years
Michael J. Ginzberg	3 years
Richard K. Herrmann, Esquire	1 year
The Honorable Joshua W. Martin, III	2 years
Stacey J. Mobley, Esquire	3 years
F. Michael Parkowski, Esquire	1 year
Tempe B. Steen, Esquire	2 years
Charles E. Welch, Esquire	3 years

(G) Justice Randy J. Holland shall be the Supreme Court Liaison Justice and Stephen D. Taylor shall be Chief of Staff to the Committee.

(H) The Committee shall provide the Chief Justice with progress reports on at least a semi-annual basis, the first such report to be furnished on or before July 1, 2004.

BY THE COURT:	
Chief Justice	

cc: The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner
The Honorable Randy J. Holland
The Honorable Carolyn Berger
The Honorable Myron T. Steele
The Honorable Jack B. Jacobs
Members of the Judicial Conference
Budget Director

The Honorable M. Jane Brady
The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan
Court Administrators
Clerk of the Supreme Court
Counsel to the Governor

Chair of Senate Judiciary Committee Chair of House Judiciary Committee