## ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 140

This 20<sup>th</sup> day of June, 2002,

## IT APPEARING THAT:

- (1) The Judicial Branch of government in Delaware regularly operates on a professional basis in that many judicial officers and staff willingly and often have worked before and after normal hours out of loyalty to the courts and the administration of justice, without requesting overtime or compensatory time.
- (2) July 4<sup>th</sup>, 2002, falls on a Thursday. July 4<sup>th</sup> is an official state holiday under Title 1, Chapter 5, §501, Delaware Code, as amended. Friday, July 5, 2002, is not a statutory holiday.
- (3) It is appropriate, and in the best interest of the morale and work ethic of the members of the Judicial Branch of government in Delaware, that employees of the Judicial Branch be recognized at this time of year for their unselfish professional efforts on behalf of the citizens of Delaware.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous approval of the members of the Supreme Court, pursuant to Delaware Constitution, art. IV, § 13(1), that:

- (A) The presiding judge of each court and the supervisor of other Judicial Branch employees shall have the discretion to excuse any employee from being required to report to work on Friday, July 5, 2002, without diminution in pay of such employee, if: (i) the services of any such employee are not essential in order to carry out pressing judicial business that must be performed at the court or office on that day; (ii) granting such excuse from reporting will not necessitate additional or incremental cost to the State; and (iii) the litigants, victims, witnesses, jurors and lawyers will not be substantially inconvenienced.
- Insofar as the administration of justice in the various Courts permits, if consistent (B) with the terms of Paragraph (A), each court in the State and each staff office, in the discretion of the presiding judge of that court or the staff supervisor, may close the court or the staff office, as the case may be, for all or part of Friday, July 5, 2002.

Chief Justice

The Honorable Ruth Ann Minner cc:

The Honorable Joseph T. Walsh

The Honorable Randy J. Holland

The Honorable Carolyn Berger

The Honorable Myron T. Steele

Members of the Judicial Conference Chair, Senate Judiciary Committee

The Honorable M. Jane Brady

The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan

Court Administrators

Clerk of the Supreme Court

Counsel to the Governor

Chair, House Judiciary Committee