
24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: New Castle County (302) 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties (302) 422-8058 
 
1035IP-PFA Instruction Packet Rev 7/2020 

Rev. 5/2018 

  1 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 

Protection from Abuse Case 
Instruction Packet 

 
  https://courts.delaware.gov/family 



24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: New Castle County (302) 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties (302) 422-8058 
 
1035IP-PFA Instruction Packet Rev 7/2020 

Rev. 5/2018 

  2 

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 
1. Introduction......................................................................................................................4  
 Purpose of this packet  
 What is a Protection from Abuse Order?  
 Finding a lawyer 
 Other resources 
2. Who can file for a PFA?.................................................................................................10 
 Only people in certain domestic relationships can file for a PFA  
 What if the case is for abuse of a child? 
3.. How does the PFA process work?............................................................................12  
 Getting help with the process  
 Requesting an Interpreter 

Where do you file the petition? 
What forms are needed to file for a PFA Petition?  
Filling out and filing a Petition for a PFA 
Requesting an Emergency Hearing and Temporary Ex Parte PFA Order  
 
Serving the Petition 
Notice to the Respondent  
Responding to a Petition for a PFA 
Preparing for the hearing 
What happens when filing for an emergency order?  
What happens during the scheduled hearing day in court? 

It is sometimes possible to reach a voluntary agreement 
What happens if Petitioner and Respondent reach an agreement? 
OR The case can go to trial and a judicial officer (a Commissioner) will 

 decide the case 
 What happens if the case goes to trial? 
Understanding temporary orders in the PFA   
Can the Court’s decision be appealed? 
Can Orders of Protection From Abuse be changed or withdrawn? 
What happens after the Order of Protection From Abuse expires?   
 

4. What must be proved for a PFA?...............................................................................31 
 List of acts that qualify as abuse under Delaware Law 



24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: New Castle County (302) 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties (302) 422-8058 
 
1035IP-PFA Instruction Packet Rev 7/2020 

Rev. 5/2018 

  3 

 

 
5. What can the court order in a PFA case?.............................................................37 

A judicial officer can grant orders for many kinds of legal protections (relief) 
List of the kinds of legal protections available in Delaware Law  
How long does the PFA order stay in place? 
 
  

6. What happens if a PFA is violated?.....................................................................42 
 
7. Flowcharts ....................................................................................................................43 

Legal Requirements for a PFA 
Scheduling a Protection From Abuse Hearing 
PFA Hearing Day: How Will the Case Proceed? 

  



24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: New Castle County (302) 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties (302) 422-8058 
 
1035IP-PFA Instruction Packet Rev 7/2020 

Rev. 5/2018 

  4 

 

1. Introduction 
 

Purpose of this Packet 

This packet gives you information about obtaining a Protection from 

Abuse (“PFA”) Court Order in Delaware and explains the steps in the 

process for these types of cases. Read this instruction packet very 

carefully. This packet does not give you legal advice.   It gives you 

information about what Delaware law requires, and how the process 

works.  

NOTE: There is a separate packet for Instructions for Filing a Child 

Custody Case.  If you are seeking a court order for child custody, 

please carefully review the Custody packet. Available at  

https://courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=39268  

Each case is different, and you must determine for yourself how the law 

applies to your case. You should think about finding a lawyer to help you–

whether you are the one filing the case or the one responding to it.  

Information on finding a lawyer (in some cases even if you have little or 

no money) is listed below on page 8. 

If you do not have a lawyer for a PFA case, you can represent yourself. 

This instruction packet will help guide you through the legal 

requirements and the process.  

This introduction is a summary of some key issues in a PFA case.  You 

will find more detailed explanations of these and other issues later in this 

packet. 

https://courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=39268
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NOTE: The person asking for a PFA order is called the petitioner and 

the person responding (the other party) is called the respondent.  

 

What is a Protection from Abuse Order? 

 

A PFA order is a court order that protects a person from certain kinds of 

abuse.  A court can order the abuser to stop the abuse and to stay away 

from the person who was abused and can also provide other short-term 

protection (the term legal protection or protection is used in this 

document to indicate the relief that the court is able to provide. Legal 

protections (relief) can take many forms such as no contact, support, or 

custody of a child) to the abused person to increase safety (explained 

more below). Parents and legal guardians can also ask for a PFA for a 

child or children. 

 

If a protection from abuse order is issued, or if the parties agree to a 

consent order, a judicial officer will enter an order against the abuser that 

prohibits further abuse. (Judges and Commissioners are judicial officers. 

Most PFA cases are handled by Commissioners.) In a PFA case, the court 

can order the abuser to have no contact with and to stay away from the 

abused person for a period of time or, in some cases, indefinitely. Some 

orders have no expiration date and are sometimes called “lifetime” 

orders.   

 
Emergency Hearings and Temporary “Ex Parte” Orders can be granted in 
some situations. 
 
I. Priority Scheduling (Emergency Expedited Hearing): 
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A Petitioner may request an emergency hearing if there is an immediate and 
present danger of domestic violence to the petitioner or to a minor child of 
the petitioner or to an adult who is impaired. Court-ordered protection may 
include an order for no contact, no abuse, temporary possession of a residence 
or temporary child custody. NOTE: These orders stay in place only 
temporarily. 

 
II. Emergency Temporary Ex Parte Order: 

 
If the petitioner claims an emergency, then the court can grant a PFA even if 
the other person (the respondent) is not present or given notice (if immediate 
and present danger exists or if serving a copy of the PFA Petition on the 
Respondent would place the petitioner at risk of harm.) This is called an ex 
parte order. But the court can only do this on a temporary basis, even in an 
emergency case, and the petitioner must tell the court why giving notice to the 
respondent would place the petitioner at risk or why efforts to give notice to 
the respondent have been unsuccessful.  

 
An emergency hearing held without notice to the respondent (ex parte) will be 
held the same day that the petition is filed or the next day that the Court is in 
session. All other emergency hearings will be scheduled for an expedited 
hearing within 15 calendar days after the petition is filed.  

 
If a temporary order is granted, it will remain in effect until the date of the next 
PFA hearing. The respondent has a right to know that allegations of abuse have 
been made – and has a right to challenge those allegations in court. A 
temporary ex parte order only lasts for 15 days. By then, a full hearing must be 
held. (The court can extend the order for another 15 days, but it can only do 
that once.) 

What actions can be taken if a PFA is violated? 

If the PFA is violated, the Petitioner may contact the police and the 

violator can be arrested.  Criminal contempt of a PFA carries a maximum 

penalty of 1 year in prison, and 3 years if the violation resulted in an 
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injury or involved a deadly weapon. Criminal charges are prosecuted by 

the police and the Department of Justice. 

The Petitioner can also file a motion for civil contempt of court.  If a 

Commissioner finds the violator in contempt, the Commissioner can 

modify the order to provide more protection, extend the order, and 

impose a fine.  

What is “abuse” under Delaware law? 

Delaware law defines abuse to include physical abuse, sexual abuse, 

threats of abuse, or acts that would cause fear or emotional distress. 

Abuse can also be any conduct that a reasonable person would find 

threatening or harmful.  A PFA can only be issued if the court finds that 

an act of abuse took place, or if both parties agree to an order.  

What kinds of relationships qualify a person to bring a PFA claim? 

PFA petitions can only be filed by persons in certain kinds of 

relationships.  As explained in the chart below beginning on page 11, you 

must be in a relationship such as spouses, intimate partners and 

relatives.   

What can you do if your relationship doesn’t qualify for a 

PFA? 

If you have been abused and do not fit into one of these 

relationships, you may want to consider contacting the police to 

obtain a criminal no-contact order and press charges against 

your abuser. 

A PFA proceeding is not a criminal case. 

A PFA case is a civil case, not a criminal case. Abuse can also lead to a 

criminal prosecution. If someone has abused you, you may contact the 
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police to pursue criminal charges and/or file for a civil PFA.  However, a 

criminal case has different laws and different processes than a PFA civil 

case. As discussed below, a PFA order provides for additional protection 

(relief) not available through the criminal process. Yet, the criminal 

process provides outcomes that are not available through the PFA 

process such as criminal prosecution, as well as incarceration or 

probation of the perpetrator.  You may pursue either or both avenues of 

protection, civil and criminal, depending on your situation and need for 

protection. 

How to begin a PFA case: 

The first step in a PFA case is for the person asking for a PFA to file a 

petition.  The person filing the petition is called the petitioner. The 

person responding to the petition is called the respondent.   

● Finding a lawyer:  
 

● If you would like assistance finding an attorney, or to see if you qualify for 
free legal assistance, you can visit the Delaware Volunteer Legal Services 
website at https://delegalhelplink.org.   

o  In Kent and Sussex Counties, Community Legal Aid Society, Inc. 
(CLASI) provides similar services. Individuals seeking legal assistance 
may call the LHL listed above.   
 

o Also, the Delaware State Bar Association (DSBA) sponsors a lawyer 
referral service. See www.dsba.org/resources/public-resources  
 

o If you choose not to have an attorney or cannot afford one, you have the 
right to represent yourself.  

 
● Other Resources  

o Self Help Center. There is a self-help resource center in Family Court 
to assist you, and where you can get information and forms for a PFA 

http://www.dsba.org/resources/public-resources
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case. Family Court staff can provide some help with identifying forms 
that you need to fill out and file. However, Family Court staff cannot 
give you legal advice or fill out the form for you.  It is up to you to 
determine what you want to do in your lawsuit and what you want to 
say in your petition or motion.   
 

 Family Court:  
New Castle County 255-0300 
Kent County 672-1000 
Sussex County 855-7400 

 
o Domestic Violence Advocacy Programs  

 
Volunteer advocates, who are not lawyers, are available to assist 
victims of domestic violence with writing and filing a PFA petition, to 
provide information about the process and to make referrals. They 
refer victims to their volunteer attorney program, to a volunteer lawyer 
program offered by Delaware Volunteer Legal Services, and to legal 
services offered by Delaware Law School, Widener University.   

 
Domestic Violence Advocacy Programs: 
New Castle County 255-0420 
Kent County 672-1075  
Sussex County 856-5843 

 
24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: 
New Castle County 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties 422-8058 
New Castle County Crisis Hotline 761-9100 
Kent & Sussex Crisis Hotline (800) 262-9800 
 
24-hour Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline: 
1-800-292-9582 
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Attorney General: 
New Castle County 255-0112 
Kent County 739-4211 
Sussex County 856-5353 

 
 

2. Who can file for a Protection from Abuse Order? 
 

● Only people in certain “domestic” relationships can file for a PFA. 
● The person claiming abuse must be in a certain kind of relationship with the 

alleged abuser to get a PFA.  
● The law sets out what kinds of relationships qualify. Generally, these include 

a family type of relationship such as spouses, intimate partners co-parents or 
relatives. The chart below sets out more detail on these relationships.  
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● What if the case is for abuse of a child? 

•Married. 
•Former spouses. If a couple was ever married, even for short time.
•A couple who lives together with a child of one or both of the parties.  
(Unmarried couples who live together are called “cohabitants” undern Delaware 
law.) 

•People living separately from each other but who have a child together. 
•People who live together and “hold themselves out as a couple.” “Holding out” as 
a couple means the people say they are a couple and act like a couple.

•People who are in a “current or former substantive dating relationship.” NOTE: 
You do not have to live with a person to be in a substantive dating relationship. 

• Any of these family relationships qualify [10 D. C. 901(12)]   
• Parent (including step-parents or in-laws)
• Child (including step-children and in-laws)
• Brother or sister (including in-law)
• Grandparent or grandchild

• In addition, any other family member you are related to in any way by 
blood, adoption or marriage that you live with. NOTE: This means that for 
relatives who are not on the list above like cousins, aunts and uncles, the 
relationship does not qualify for a PFA, unless you live with each other. 

Qualifying Relationships. If you are in one of the relationships on the 
list below, you can file for a PFA:

What counts as a “substantive dating relationship?”  This will depend on the facts of the case.  
The court will look at a number of things to decide whether the relationship qualifies.  It may 
depend on the length of the relationship, the type of relationship, and how often and how the 
people interact with each other.  
NOTE: People who are just friends or do not know each other well do not fit this definition.  
NOTE: Strangers do not fit this definition.  
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o The parent or legal guardian of a child can file for a Protection from 

Abuse Order on behalf of a child. Either the parent OR the child must be 
in one of the relationships with the alleged abuser listed above.   

 
o In some cases, the petitioner will want to file a PFA petition for abuse 

against herself or himself AND for abuse against a child, or for a child 
only  

 
 NOTE: If there has been child abuse, an alternative legal process 

is an emergency stay of visitation or emergency custody 
petition. You should consider speaking to a lawyer first before 
deciding about what petition to file.  
 

o To obtain a PFA Order for a child you must prove that the child needs 
protection under Delaware law.  That means you must prove that there 
has been an act of abuse against the child. (Acts of abuse are explained 
immediately below). You will need to present evidence of the abuse to 
the court. You may need to bring in the child as a witness who will 
explain what happened and a judge can interview the child.  If child 
abuse is the sole allegation a party may want to consider filing a motion 
to stay visitation or a petition for custody, along with an affidavit for 
emergency hearing.  Given the legal complexities of these matters a 
party may want to consider obtaining legal advice from an attorney 
first.   

 
3. How does the PFA process work?  

 
● Getting help with the process  

 
o The legal process can be hard to understand.  If possible, it is a good 

idea to speak with a lawyer to obtain advice or representation.   
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o If you choose to represent yourself, there is help available to you. Read 
this instruction packet very carefully. It doesn’t provide legal advice, 
but it gives you key information that you need so you can understand 
what the law requires for a PFA order, and some guidance on what you 
need to do and how the process works. 
 

o Another resource is the Family Court staff who can help you with 
finding the right forms.  Although Family Court staff can’t give legal 
advice, they are able to provide information about how to fill out the 
forms.  Court staff can also direct litigants to the Domestic Violence 
Advocacy Program in each county where advocates will be available to 
assist in filling out and filing a PFA petition. Victim Advocates are not 
lawyers, so again, it is also helpful to seek legal advice from a lawyer 
prior to the filing of a PFA petition or prior to the day of the scheduled 
hearing.  

 
o INTERPRETERS: 

 
 If you or the Respondent needs an interpreter for the hearing, check 
the box on the PFA petition and indicate what language is needed for 
either you or the Respondent.  The box is located on the top portion 
of the PFA petition where personal information is provided (such as 
name and address).  If you do not check the box when you file the 
petition, you or the Respondent may notify the court prior to the 
hearing that an interpreter will be needed.  If the request is made at the 
beginning of a hearing, an interpreter will be brought in if available.   

 
To ensure that an interpreter is available, it is best request an 
interpreter on the petition or to advise the court several days before 
your hearing date so that the court has enough time to find an 
interpreter.  If you do not request an interpreter prior to the day of your 
hearing the case may have to be rescheduled if an interpreter is not 
available.  
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 Where do I file the Petition? There is a Family Court in each of Delaware’s 
three counties, and you can file the petition in any county where you or the 
other party live, or where you are claiming the abuse took place. Or, if you are 
staying in another county due to the abuse, you can file in that county. 

o In Kent and Sussex Counties you may file your papers at the Resource 
Centers on the first floor of the Family Court buildings.  

o In New Castle County, you may file your papers at the Resource Center 
on Lower Level One of the Leonard L. Williams Justice Center or, if, you 
have all of the forms completed, you do NOT have any questions, you 
have made the necessary copies and you do NOT need any papers 
notarized, you may file your papers at the Central Filing and Payment 
Center located on the first floor of the New Castle County Courthouse.  
There is no staff assistance at the Central Filing and Payment Center.  

o  If you file your papers by mail, the addresses for each courthouse are 
available on the Family Court website.  The Court does NOT accept 
filings that are faxed.  

 
 

● Filing By Email 
You may also file your petition and required forms by email.  The required 
forms are those referenced beginning on page 15 in this packet.   
To file by email, you must send the petition and required forms to: 
FC_PFA@delaware.gov.  
For more information on filing by email, please review the Civil Filing by 
Email FAQ: https://courts.delaware.gov/family/faqs 
 
 

● What forms do I need to file for a PFA Petition? 
 

NOTE: Forms and assistance are available at the Resource Center in the 
Family Court buildings in Kent and Sussex Counties, at Family Court 
Intake in the New Castle County Courthouse and are on the Delaware 
Family Court’s web page available at  
https://www.courts.delaware.gov/family/. 

 

https://courts.delaware.gov/family/faqs
https://www.courts.delaware.gov/family/
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Required Forms: 
 

o Petition for Order of Protection from Abuse  
 Everyone who files for a PFA must fill out and file the PFA 

Petition. Form 450. 
 

 
Filling out and filing a Petition for a PFA (Form 450)  
 
What information should be in the Petition?  
If you believe you have been abused and want to ask the court to issue 
a PFA order, the first step is to file a PFA Petition in the Family Court.  
A petition explains the facts of the case and asks the court for 
protection (relief).  
 

 Remember, the person filing the petition is called the petitioner. 
The person against whom the claim of abuse is being filed is 
called the respondent.  

 Explaining facts to prove abuse. The petition must explain the 
facts to prove abuse under the law. The explanation of the facts 
must be specific and should include dates if possible. 

 
● NOTE: The explanation of facts goes into section 3 of the 

petition.  The court can only consider acts that are 
described in the petition. The court cannot consider any 
other acts, unless the petition is amended before trial. 
 

● If you are petitioning for protection for yourself or for 
your child, you must explain in the petition exactly what 
the facts are that you believe qualify as abuse of you or of 
your child.  
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● For example, “On or about September 21, 2016, Alex 
Smith hit me with a closed fist in my right eye causing a 
bruise.  At the time of the abuse our children were 
present in the home.” Or “On or about September 22, 
2017, Alex Smith struck our daughter Emma with a 
closed fist in her arm and broke it.” Or, “In the summer of 
2015, Alex Smith threatened to harm my pet dog to make 
me do what he wanted.” Use specific dates whenever 
possible. If you do not recall the exact date, try to list the 
year or timeframe, if possible.  
 

● NOTE: Acts of abuse that must be alleged and proved 
under Delaware law are explained on pages 33-37 of this 
packet.  

 
Explaining Facts to show a qualifying relationship. The 
petition must also explain facts that prove the petitioner and 
respondent are in a family type of relationship such as spouses, 
intimate partners, co-parents, or relatives. 

 
● This is done in Part 2 of the petition by checking off one 

of the boxes to select the kind of relationship you are in.    
 

● NOTE: The types of domestic relationships that must be alleged and 
proved under Delaware law are explained in the chart in the back of the 
packet. 

 
 

 Do I have to reveal my address? NO—if you believe revealing 
your address will endanger you or your child, you may omit 
your address from your petition.   
 

 Petitions must be “verified.” That means the Petitioner must 
sign the petition and swear under oath that the facts are true to 
the best of his or her knowledge.  This must be done in the 
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presence of a notary. There are notary servers available at the 
Family Court, free of charge for PFA petitions. 

 
o Addendum 

  
 An addendum may be attached to the petition to list additional 

acts of abuse if the petitioner needs more space. Form 540. 
 

 Remember, it is important to list all acts of abuse that you 
want the court to consider in the PFA Petition and Addendum, 
so that the court can consider your allegations on the day of 
the hearing.  

 
o  Information Sheet   

 
 A Petitioner must file a court information form for all petitions 

filed with the court.  Form 240. The information sheet asks the 
petitioner to identify the respondent, and to provide other 
identifying information about the petitioner and respondent. 
This information can help the process server find and serve the 
respondent.   
 

Situational Forms: 
 
There are other forms that you might or might not file, depending on 
your situation.  These include: 
 

o Additional Petitioners or Respondents  
 

● If there are more than one Petitioner or Respondent, you will 
need to file this form, and provide the requested information 
about any such additional person(s). Form 583. 

 
o Custody Separate Statement  

 If you are seeking temporary custody of a child, you must file Form 346 
with the PFA petition.  
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 A Custody Separate Statement Form only needs to be filed 
when the petitioner is requesting a temporary custody order in 
the PFA petition.  Form 346. 

 
o Affidavit of Parentage  

 An Affidavit of Parentage Form must be filed when the 
petitioner is requesting temporary custody in the PFA petition 
if parentage for each child has not been decided by Family 
Court.  Form 154.  
 

 
 Affidavit that a Party’s Address is Unknown If the Petitioner 

does not know where the Respondent lives he or she should fill 
out Form 241. (See the section on Notice to Respondent, 
pages 20). 

 
o Affidavit for Emergency Expedited Hearing (Priority Scheduling) 

 This form is filed to request that the Court hear your case 
within 15 days because of an emergency. Form 656. 

 
o Affidavit for Emergency Temporary Ex Parte PFA Order   

 This form is filed to request an immediate hearing with the 
Court (occurring either the same day or the following day). 

 
 If a Temporary Ex Parte order is granted, it will remain in 

effect until the date of your PFA hearing. (Remember that the 
Ex Parte filing doesn’t provide notice to the respondent. For 
that reason, the Ex Parte order can only last for a temporary 
period of time and the respondent will receive notice after the 
order is entered and will have a chance to be heard by the 
court.) Form 654. 

 
o Certification of Firearm Unavailability   

 This form should be used by the Respondent in a PFA if the 
court ordered him or her to turn in firearms and the 
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respondent either does not own, possess or control the 
firearms or is unable to obtain access to them. Form 435. 

 
o Proof of Transfer of Firearms - for use by federally licensed 

firearms dealers.  
 The respondent should submit this form if he or she is ordered 

to turn in firearms and has transferred the firearms to a 
federally licensed dealer. Form 437. 

o Filing for an Emergency Hearing & Temporary “Ex Parte” 
o  PFA Order.  

 
 Emergency Expedited Hearing. [Form 656]  

 
A petitioner may request an emergency protective order by 
filing a PFA petition & Form 656 alleging that there is an 
immediate and present danger of domestic violence to the 
petitioner or to a minor child of the petitioner or to an adult 
who is impaired.  If approved, the Court will place the matter 
on the calendar for a hearing to be held within 15 days.  

 
 Emergency Temporary Ex Parte Order [Form 654]  

 
 As explained more below, a temporary emergency protective 

order may be issued on an emergency and temporary ex parte 
basis, that is, without notice to the respondent. 

 
 An emergency hearing held on a temporary ex parte basis will 

be held the same day that the petition is filed or the next day that 
the Court is in session. All other emergency hearings will be 
scheduled for an expedited hearing within 15 calendar days 
after the petition is filed.  

 
 If a temporary Ex Parte order is granted, it will remain in effect 

until the date of your PFA hearing. 
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 Note: Although a request for Priority Scheduling (Emergency 
Hearing) and a request for an Emergency Temporary Ex Parte 
PFA Order are both heard on an expedited basis (emergency 
basis), ex parte protection is necessary if immediate and 
present danger exists or if serving a copy of the PFA Petition on 
the Respondent would place the petitioner at risk of harm.  As 
a result, if the petitioner believes that providing notice to the 
respondent would place the petitioner at additional risk of 
harm, the petitioner may want to request a temporary ex parte 
order    If “notice” to the respondent does not cause additional 
risk but there is an immediate and present danger of 
domestic violence to the petitioner or to a minor child of the 
petitioner the petitioner may want to request an emergency 
hearing (but not a temporary Ex Parte Order).  

 
 

Serving the Petition:  
Once the petition is filed, it will be served by the court on the other party (the 
respondent). The respondent will receive a copy of the petition, allegations of abuse, 
requests for protection (relief) and notice of the scheduled hearing date.   

 
 NOTE: If you are concerned that service of the petition on the 

other party will place you at risk of harm, you may seek a 
temporary ex parte order prior to the court’s service of the 
papers. But the respondent will be notified soon afterwards, 
after the temporary ex parte order is entered, that a petition has 
been filed.  You should plan with this fact in mind and engage in 
safety planning. For safety planning resources contact the 
National Domestic Abuse Hotline at 1-800-799-SAFE (7233).  
[See also local resources pages 8-10 above]. 

 
Notice to Respondent: In some cases, the petitioner doesn’t know 
where the respondent is located. Without information about the 
respondent’s location, it is impossible for the court to find and notify 
the respondent of the petition and the hearing. So, the law gives the 
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petitioner another way to give notice to the respondent. Court staff will 
give petitioner a document to fill out, saying that the respondent’s 
address is unknown. (Form 241.) In that case, the Court will arrange 
for publication in the county where the petitioner believes the 
respondent resides.  After notice has been published once, the court 
will receive an Affidavit of Publication from the newspaper. A hearing 
will then follow.  

 
 Responding to a Petition for a PFA  

 
o If someone has filed a petition alleging abuse, the respondent is 

required to appear in court on the required date to answer the claims 
made. (Reminder: “the respondent” is the person responding to the 
claims.) 
 

o Respondents don’t need to file an answer to the PFA Petition.  
o Sometimes, both people are claiming that the other person abused 

them and have both filed a PFA Petition. If the respondent believes 
that he or she has been subjected to abuse by the petitioner, the 
respondent must file a separate petition and follow all the instructions 
described above.  Otherwise, the court cannot consider any acts of 
abuse that may have been committed against the respondent.  

 
o The respondent should consider obtaining legal advice or 

representation to respond to the allegations of the petition alleging 
abuse. 

 

● Preparing for the Hearing  
 

o ACTS OF ABUSE CAN BE PROVED BY: 
 
  WITNESSES:   

 
● A person under oath telling the facts to the judge in court who has 

first-hand knowledge of an act of abuse or observation of an injury. 



24-hour Domestic Violence Hotlines: New Castle County (302) 762-6110 
Kent & Sussex Counties (302) 422-8058 
 
1035IP-PFA Instruction Packet Rev 7/2020 

Rev. 5/2018 

  22 

 

That person must appear at the hearing to testify, a letter or 
affidavit is NOT accepted by the court as proof of abuse.  

● Such as: 
o A police officer,  
o Neighbor,  
o Friend, or  
o Family member (if the family member is a child, an interview 

may be scheduled outside of the court, and attorneys may 
sometimes be present). The specific words of the statute that 
deals with getting the child’s version of the events are:  

 
“The Court may examine a child outside the presence of the 
parties to obtaining the child's testimony and ascertaining the 
truth of a matter asserted by a party to the proceeding. The 
Court may permit counsel to be present at the examination, and 
to also examine the child. The Court may permit a party who is 
not present for the examination to submit questions of fact for 
the Court to use in ascertaining the testimony of the child.” 

 
● YOU CAN BRING A WITNESS TO YOUR HEARING TO TESTIFY.  
 
● SUBPOENAS:  It is important that all witnesses are served with a 

subpoena (an order to appear in court) prior to trial to ensure their 
appearance on the day of your hearing.  If a witness is not served 
with a subpoena within a reasonable period of time prior to trial 
(5 business days prior to trial) the court may not grant a 
continuance for that witness to testify. Any individual, other than 
a party to the action, can serve a subpoena on a witness.  Copies of 
subpoenas can be obtained from the Family Court prior to the trial.  
A party can also request that the court “process server” serve the 
subpoena prior to the hearing.  The court, however, can’t 
guarantee that the subpoena will be served prior to a hearing.  

 
● A WITNESS CAN TESTIFY EVEN IF THEY ARE NOT SUPBOEANED.   
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 OTHER EVIDENCE:  
 
● Photographs,  
● Phone messages establishing abuse, 
● Text messages or e-mails establishing abuse (NOTE: a party may 

request permission from the court prior to trial to bring their cell 
phone to court on the day of the trial for this purpose),  
o If you have information on an electronic device that you wish 

the Court to view as evidence during the hearing, you must 
first obtain permission from the Court to bring the electronic 
device into the Courthouse.   Place your cell phone or other 
electronic device in a locker available in the parking garage at 
the courthouse. When you check in for your hearing or prior 
to the day of the hearing, you can request permission to bring 
in the device by completing a request form. Once you have 
permission, you will be accompanied through security by a 
Family Court Security Officer.  The judicial officer will 
determine how the device will be stored and secured 
throughout the proceeding.  

● Criminal conviction or guilty plea for an act alleged in the 
petition (the documents must be certified if they are from any 
court, other than the Delaware Family Court). You may obtain a 
certified copy of a conviction or guilty plea from the court that 
issued that order by asking the clerk or authorized court employee 
to sign and confirm its accuracy (certification).  For example, if 
your case in in New Castle County, Delaware and the other party 
was convicted of an assault in the Delaware Superior Court, you 
may go to the Prothonotary’s office found in the New Castle Court 
Courthouse and ask the clerk to “certify” a copy of the conviction. 
If the conviction or guilty plea is from a different state, you will 
need to contact the clerk of the court in that state for a certified 
copy.  Some states allow you to obtain a certified copy from their 
web page.  There is often a small fee associated with obtaining a 
certified copy.  See Delaware Rule of Evidence DRE 902(4), 

● Damaged property,  
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● Medical Records (certified according to the rules of evidence),  
o You may either subpoena the custodian of the medical records 
or other qualified witness to testify and bring the records to court, 
or 
o  You may obtain “certified” copies of the medical records (if so, 
you do not need a witness).  The certification for medical records 
must come from the custodian of the medical records or other 
qualified person working for the doctor or hospital and must 
establish the following:  

▪  (1) that the report (record or data in any form, of acts, 
events, conditions, opinions or diagnoses), was made at 
or near the time by a person with knowledge,  

▪  (2) was kept in the course of a regularly conducted 
business activity, and  

▪  (3) was the regular practice of that business activity to 
make the memorandum, report, record or data.  

▪  See DRE 803(6) & D.R.E. 902(11) or D.R.E. 902(12).  
● 911 Calls.   A certified copy of the 911 call may be obtained from 

the 911 call center by subpoena.    
 

 

 NOTE: It is very important that you bring with you on the day of 
trial several your copies of each item of evidence.  

 
 To meet the legal requirements of the admission of evidence at 

a hearing you should speak with an attorney.  THERE ARE 
RULES THE COURTS FOLLOW FOR EVIDENCE TO BE 
ADMITTED.  Simply bringing a copy of your evidence may not 
work. Evidence won’t be accepted unless it satisfies the legal 
rules for being admitted at trial.  

 
● What happens if you file for an emergency hearing or Temporary Ex 

Parte Order?     
 

o Emergency Hearings and Temporary “Ex Parte” Orders 
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 As explained above, a Petitioner may request an emergency 

hearing if there is an immediate and present danger of 
domestic violence to the petitioner or to a minor child of the 
petitioner or to an adult who is impaired. 
 

 If the petitioner claims an emergency, then the court can grant 
a PFA even if the other person (the respondent) isn’t present 
or given notice (if notice would place the petitioner at risk of 
harm.) This is called an ex parte order. But the court can only 
do this on a temporary basis, even in an emergency case, and 
the petitioner must tell the court why giving notice to the 
respondent would place the Petitioner at risk or why efforts to 
notice the respondent have been unsuccessful.  

 
 An emergency hearing held without notice to the respondent (ex 

parte) will be held the same day that the petition is filed or the 
next day that the Court is in session. All other emergency 
hearings will be scheduled for an expedited hearing within 15 
calendar days after the petition is filed.  

 
 If a temporary Ex Parte order is granted, it will remain in effect 

until the date of the next PFA hearing. The respondent has a 
right to know that allegations of abuse have been made – and 
has a right to challenge those allegations in court. An ex parte 
order only lasts for 15 days. By then, a full hearing must be 
held. (The court can extend the order for another 15 days, but 
it can only do that once.) 

 
 
 

● What happens if my PFA was dismissed because I did not know about the 
hearing or because I could not attend due to an emergency?  
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 You can request to have your PFA petition reopened by filing a Motion 
to Reopen with the court. You must send a copy of your Motion to Reopen 
to the Respondent. You should describe exactly why you did not attend 
the hearing on the scheduled date and time. If there was an emergency or 
some other good reason that prevented you from attending, attach 
documents to your Motion to Reopen that show why you were not able to 
attend the hearing. For instance, if there was a medical emergency that 
required you to go to the emergency room just before or at the time of the 
hearing, attach  a copy of the hospital’s emergency room  medical record 
showing the medical treatment provided, and the date and time of 
admission and discharge. In this example, for privacy reasons, you could 
blot out the medical treatment provided on the copy you send to the 
Respondent. Typically, the Court will decide whether to reopen the case 
after it has given the Respondent an opportunity to respond to your 
motion ” 

 
● What happens during the scheduled hearing day in court?  

 
What happens in court will depend on whether one or both parties are 
present on the day the trial is scheduled.  
 
If only one party is present on the day of the hearing: 

 
o If the petitioner is present but the respondent is not.  The first 

question is whether the respondent had notice of the hearing. “Notice” 
is a legal term that basically means that the person knew about the 
hearing, or that the Petitioner took the required steps to notify the 
Respondent of the hearing. (See Notice to Respondent, page 20). 

 
o If the respondent did not have notice that the law requires, then the 

court can’t hear the case. The judicial officer will grant a continuance,”  
o which means the hearing will be rescheduled for a later time when the 

respondent has received notice.  
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o An exception to this is if the petitioner has filed the case on an ex parte 
basis (also explained above).  If an emergency case was filed, the court 
may hear the case without the respondent being present (ex parte) 
and can enter a temporary order, which will remain in place until the 
next hearing date. 
 

o If the respondent did have notice but failed to show up for the 
hearing, the court can go ahead and hear the case. The court will still 
have to decide whether the facts of the case allow the judicial officer 
to issue a PFA.  An order in a case like this is called a default judgment. 

 
o If the respondent is present but the petitioner does not appear: 

The case may be dismissed. However, the Petitioner may refile and 
bring the case in the future. This is called a dismissal “without 
prejudice” because it does not stop the case from being filed again.   

 
 If there was a temporary ex parte order entered in the case on 

an earlier date, that order will end and no longer be in effect. 
 

 
If both parties appear for the scheduled hearing:  
There are several things that can happen and options to consider.  
 

● You can go to trial and a judicial officer will decide the case.  The trial 
process is described in more detail below. Each person will have to decide for 
themselves whether a trial is the best choice.  
 

● You have the option of reaching a voluntary agreement.  Another option is 
that the petitioner and the respondent may voluntarily agree on how to 
resolve the case. When this happens, the court will issue a “Consent Order.” 
Here’s how the process works: 

 
o Both the petitioner and the respondent will meet with an employee of 

the court, called a “Mediator.” The mediator meets with each person 
separately, starting with the petitioner. The mediator will find out what 
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the petitioner wants to have included in the PFA Order. Then the 
mediator talks with the respondent for the same purpose to find out if 
the respondent will agree to what the petitioner is asking for the order 
to include or if the respondent has other suggestions.  Sometimes the 
mediator will go back and forth, maybe a few times, to see if an 
agreement is possible.  
 
NOTE:  You do not have to reach an agreement. It is up to you to 
decide whether you want to enter into an agreement.   An agreement is 
valid only if it is entered into voluntarily and consented to by both 
parties. Such an agreement will be presented to the court and if the 
court agrees and adopts the agreement, it is called a Consent Order. 
 
NOTE: An agreement can be limited to only certain issues.  If each 
party voluntarily agrees to do so, the parties do not address whether 
abuse occurred, and the court will not make any finding of abuse in a 
Consent Order.  Instead, the parties limit their agreement to the legal 
protections available in a PFA case. For example, the parties could 
agree that the respondent will not abuse the petitioner in the future or 
will stay away from the petitioner. The parties could agree who has 
possession of a home that the two parties had been sharing; or on 
financial support for the children or for the petitioner. The parties 
could also agree about custody of the children. This could include who 
the children will live with and a schedule of visitation for the other 
parent.  
 
The petitioner should think about whether an agreement is a 
satisfactory solution.  The petitioner and the other party might be 
able to create an order that is acceptable to both parties.  Another point 
to consider is that reaching agreement means that there is no trial. That 
means the petitioner does not have to prove that an act or acts of abuse 
have occurred and the respondent does not have to defend against the 
claims of abuse and have a finding of abuse entered by the court.  
Instead, the court can enter an order based on your agreement (a 
Consent Order). 
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IMPORTANT NOTE: A Consent Order has the same force and 
effect of an order entered after a hearing. However, it is 
important to understand that with a Consent Order, a court will 
not be able to enter a finding that an act or acts of abuse have 
occurred. Still, abuse against a child or against the other parent 
is something courts must consider in determining custody of a 
child.  A parent can and should tell a court about such abuse as 
a part of a custody case, even if the parties in a PFA case agree 
not to address the issue in a PFA Consent Order  
 
NOTE: The Family Court judicial officers and staff can explain 
what is involved in agreeing to a Consent Order, but they are not 
able to provide you legal advice.  It is up to you to decide what 
to do and what your best options are.  

 
o What happens if petitioner and respondent reach an agreement?  

 
 The mediator will write up the agreement, called a “Consent 

Order” and then both the petitioner and the respondent will go 
before a Commissioner (a judicial officer) who will make sure 
that the two people understand what they are agreeing to.  If 
they do, the Commissioner reads and confirms the Consent 
Order on the record. 

   
 As explained earlier, the agreement becomes an Order of the 

Court. This means that it can be enforced just like any other 
order.  

 
 

● What happens if the case goes to trial?  
 

o If the parties do not reach an agreement, the court will hear the case (a 
trial will occur that day). The Commissioner may allow brief opening 
statements or address preliminary matters (such as motions for 
continuance).  The petitioner and the respondent will each be given a 
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chance to tell the court what happened and the facts of their case and 
offer any other evidence that they may have. Witnesses may be called 
to explain the facts of the case that they know about.   

 
o The petitioner will go first and present her or his case. The petitioner 

will testify and present other evidence.  The respondent will be able to 
ask questions (cross-examine) of any of the petitioner’s witnesses or 
object to any evidence the petitioner presents during her or his case.  
After the petitioner is finished with her or his case, the respondent may 
move to dismiss the case. That motion will be granted if the court does 
not think the petitioner has proved that abuse took place. The 
respondent can also present any evidence in defense, at which time the 
petitioner may cross-examine any of respondent’s witnesses or object 
to any of respondent’s evidence.  The Commissioner may ask both the 
petitioner and the respondent questions. The court may allow brief 
closing statements by the parties or their attorneys. 

 
o The Commissioner will consider the evidence and will decide whether 

the petitioner has proven that the abuse happened, or not.   
 

o If “yes,” then the Commissioner will enter a PFA Order, and will decide 
what legal protections will be in that order. If “not,” then the 
Commissioner will dismiss the petition and no order will be entered. 

 
o Sometimes, the court will tell the parties to return at a later date. This 

is called a “continuance,” and the Commissioner will reschedule the 
case if there’s a good reason to do so. 

 
● What should I do after an award of temporary protection in the PFA?   

 
o If the court enters a PFA order with temporary protections (relief) such 

as custody, visitation or support, the parties should consider filing 
separate petitions, such as a custody or support petition, as soon as 
possible.  This is needed because these parts of the PFA are temporary 
and will expire within a year (or sooner) of the entry of the PFA Order. 
It can sometimes take months for a hearing to be scheduled on these 
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other petitions. So, a delay on the part of the petitioner or respondent 
in filing these other petitions may result in the PFA expiring before the 
court is able to schedule and hear the custody or support issue.  If this 
occurs, the parties will no longer have the protection of a court order 
on these important matters. 

 
● Can I appeal the Court’s decision? 

 
o If you do not agree with the court’s decision in the case, the order 

entered by a Commissioner may be appealed to a Judge of the Family 
Court by filing a Request for Review of a Commissioner's Order.  
Appeals from Commissioner's orders must be filed with the Family 
Court within thirty (30) days of the order.  

 
● Can Orders of Protection from Abuse be changed or withdrawn? 

 
o The party who wants to change an Order of Protection in some way 

may file, with Family Court, a form called a Motion to Modify, /Extend 
or Rescind Order of Protection from Abuse. Form 456. The Court may 
modify a non-consent order only if the party asking for the modification 
proves that there is a good reason for the change. The Court may modify 
a consent order if both parties agree or if the respondent has been 
found in contempt of the consent order.  

 
● What happens after the Order of Protection from Abuse expires? 

 
o If you need protection, you may file a new PFA Petition or file a motion 

to extend a current PFA Order. To get protection that extends beyond 
the expiration of the PFA order, either party may file for custody, 
visitation, child or spousal support, or divorce and property division.   

 

4. What Must Be Proved for a PFA? 
 

o The person asking for a PFA must prove to the court that the case meets 
the requirements of the law. This is a two-step process. First, the 

https://www.courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=253
https://www.courts.delaware.gov/forms/download.aspx?id=253
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petition must state that the respondent committed at least one act of 
abuse. Note that the court can only consider acts listed in the petition. 
So, it is very important to list all acts of abuse because this allows the 
court to fully consider your case at the time of the scheduled hearing. 
The petition must also ask the court for legal protections (relief).  This 
means you need to state what you want the court to do. The second step 
is to prove that the acts of abuse listed in the petition took place.  The 
petitioner needs to be ready to prove the facts of the case on the day of 
the scheduled trial by bringing in any evidence and calling in any 
witnesses to be at court.  

 
 NOTE: For more on how to get ready for the hearing day, see 

pages 21-25. 
 

 WHAT IS A PFA ORDER?  
 
The PFA order states the legal protections 
granted to the petitioner, such as no contact, 
no abuse, temporary custody. 

 
o If both parties agree to a PFA order, the court can accept the agreement 

and enter an order called a Consent Order.  If a Consent Order is issued, 
there is no trial and abuse is not proved in court.  The PFA Consent Order 
does not include a finding of abuse but is a fully enforceable court order. 
What will happen on the day of your hearing (how the case will proceed) 
is detailed in the flow chart at the front of this packet.  

 
o If a Consent Order is issued, such an order cannot later be used as 

evidence of domestic violence against the respondent in another court 
proceeding, such as a custody hearing or for a Visa.  
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o The law lists many different acts that qualify as abuse. If the petitioner 
proves any one of these acts has taken place, the court can issue a PFA.  
 

o Here is a list of acts that qualify as abuse under Delaware law—10 
Del. Code. § 1041  
 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

• NOTE: this includes physical harm or sexual misconduct. 
• NOTE: Sexual offenses include many different types of conduct, not 

just rape. Basically, any touching to a private part of the body that 
isn't consented to is a sexual offense.

• The specific words of the law are: “Intentionally or recklessly causing 
or attempting to cause physical injury or a sexual offense (as defined 
in § 761 of Title 11).” 

a.  Causing, or trying to cause, physical injury or a 
sexual offense.

• The specific words of the law are:  “Intentionally or recklessly placing 
or attempting to place another person in reasonable apprehension of 
physical injury or sexual offense to such person or another.”

• NOTE: The law doesn’t require that the respondent make contact with 
the victim. For example: If the Respondent throws a bottle at the 
Petitioner, but misses, that conduct is abuse and falls under this section.

b.  Intentionally making someone afraid of physical 
harm or sexual offense, even if no physical contact 
actually takes place.

NOTE: "Title 11" is the part of the Delaware law that defines criminal offenses. Sexual 
offenses in Title 11 include (but are not limited to) sexual harassment, indecent exposure, 
unlawful sexual contact, rape, sexual extortion and continuous sexual abuse of a child.  
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• The specific words of the law are:  "Intentionally or recklessly 
damaging, destroying or taking the tangible property of another 
person.”

• NOTE: If the alleged abuser destroys or steals things that belong to the 
victim, this section applies – no matter whether the objects taken or 
destroyed have great value. For example: If the Respondent destroys 
Petitioner’s cell phone this conduct is abuse and falls under this section.

c.  Purposely or very carelessly damaging, destroying, 
or taking someone else’s property.

• The specific words of the law are “Engaging in a course of alarming or 
distressing conduct in a manner which is likely to cause fear or 
emotional distress or to provoke a violent or disorderly response.”

• NOTE: Sometimes the abuser’s actions can take the form of repeated 
harassment or stalking behaviors. For example:  Repeated or harassing 
telephone calls or text messages, following the victim, persistent 
patterns of leaving or sending the victim unwanted items or presents 
that may range from seemingly romantic to bizarre, following or laying in 
wait for the victim, threatening to damage the victim's property, 
defaming the victim's character, or harassing the victim via the Internet 
by posting personal information or spreading rumors about the victim. 

d. Doing things repeatedly that are likely to cause fear 
or emotional distress, or that are likely to cause 
someone to react in a violent way.
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• The specific words of the law are: “Trespassing on or in property of 
another person, or on or in property from which the trespasser has 
been excluded by court order.”

• NOTE: The victim doesn’t need to own the property. If the victim has a 
valid lease on the property, trespass by the alleged abuser will also 
qualify the victim for a protective order under this section. 

f. Trespassing on someone else’s property. Even if 
someone owns the property, if there’s a court order 
saying they can’t be on it, they are trespassing if they 
don’t follow the order. 

• Child abuse, as defined in Chapter 9 of Title 16.” (This title in turn 
borrows the definition from 10 Del. Code § 901, which contains the 
following language): “Abuse” or “abused child” means that a person:
• a. Causes or inflicts sexual abuse on a child; or
• b. Has care, custody or control of a child, and causes or inflicts:

• 1. Physical injury through unjustified force…;
• 2. Emotional abuse;
• 3. Torture;
• 4. Exploitation; or
• 5. Maltreatment or mistreatment.

• NOTE: The abuse of a child gives the parent or legal guardian the right 
to seek a PFA, even if the adult is not a direct victim of the abuse. As 
the statute makes clear, the list of actions that qualify as child abuse 
covers many things, including physically or emotionally abusing a child. 
For example: If an alleged abuser commits a physical act of abuse, 
threatens or continually ridicules the child, the parent or guardian may 
seek a PFA on behalf of the child.

e.  Child abuse. This covers a wide range of actions. 
Some of these are physical injury, sexual abuse, 
and emotional abuse. 
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• The specific words of the law are: “Unlawful imprisonment, 
kidnapping, interference with custody and coercion, as defined in 
Title 11.” 

• Note: For example, Respondent locks Petitioner in the basement of his 
residence against Petitioner’s will. This conduct is abuse and falls under 
this section. Another example: If Petitioner has the legal right to custody 
of a child, the Respondent may not interfere with that right – even if 
Respondent is also a parent or guardian.  So, if Petitioner is supposed to 
have access to the child and the Respondent unlawfully obstructs that 
access, that obstruction could qualify as abuse under this section of the 
law.

g. Imprisonment, kidnapping, or forcing the other 
party to do something they don’t want to do 
(“coercion”)—or interfering with custody of a child.
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5. What can the Court order in a PFA case? 
 

● A judicial officer can grant orders for many kinds of legal protections.  
 

o The court has flexibility in PFA cases and can issue orders to keep 
people safe.   The court can give any order that provides protection and 
resources to the abused person.   
 

o Here is a list of the kinds of legal protections available under 
Delaware Law: include headings:  safety 

• The specific words of the law are:
• “Any other conduct which a reasonable person under the 

circumstances would find threatening or harmful.”
• NOTE: This is a broad definition of abuse that allows for a wide range 

of acts to count as abuse under the law. Many times the acts of abuse 
will match the specific list discussed above.  Even if it does not, a court 
can still find that abuse has taken place if it fits this “catch all” 
definition. For example, threatening to notify immigration authorities 
of an undocumented immigrant’s location might be considered 
abusive even though it does not fall within any of the other categories.

• NOTE: This subsection may include one-time acts that are extreme or 
bizarre. These may warrant a protective order even though they do not 
fall within the other definitions of abuse.  An example is the killing or 
threatening to kill a family pet to cause fear or alarm to a Petitioner, or 
that results in fear or alarm to the Petitioner or child. 

h.  Any conduct that is threatening or harmful.
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SAFETY PROTECTIONS 
 
 Order the respondent not to commit acts of domestic violence; 
 
 Forbid the respondent from contacting the petitioner including by 

email, by phone, at your place of work, at your children’s school, at 
the supermarket; 
 

 Order the Respondent to stay away from the Petitioner(s). 
 

 
USE OF PROPERTY 
  
 
 Give the petitioner the right to remain in the home, even if 

someone else owns it or is on the lease;  
 

 Give the petitioner temporary use of personal property owned by 
either party —such as vehicles, furniture, checkbooks, or keys;  

 
 CHILD CUSTODY 
 

 Grant temporary custody of the children to the petitioner (or to 
another family member).   

 
 NOTE: Custody means the schedule for when each parent 

spends time with a child or children and who makes major 
decisions for a child.  See custody packet for more 
information. 

 
 FINANCIAL PROTECTIONS  
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 Order child support or financial support for the petitioner, if the 
party has a legal obligation to pay support under 13 Del. Chapter 5 
of Title 13 of the Delaware Code15.  

 
 Order the respondent to pay the petitioner (or another family 

member) money for any losses that happened because of the 
domestic violence. These include medical and dental expenses, the 
cost of counseling, the loss of any earnings from a job, the cost of 
repairing or replacing property that has been damaged or taken, 
and travel expenses (including moving).  
 

 Ordering that the respondent to pay the costs of the legal action. 
This can include the money charged by the lawyers involved;  

 
FIREARMS 

 
 Ordering the respondent to give up any guns or other firearms (in 

many cases, this is a required part of the PFA order). The petitioner 
and respondent can agree to this protection or the court can order it 
after a hearing.   Federal law prohibits anyone under a domestic 
violence protective order from buying or possessing firearms or 
ammunition (18 USC § 922(g)(8)). The law applies to orders (1) 
issued after notice to the abuser and a hearing and (2) protecting 
an “intimate partner” of the abuser or a child of the abuser or 
intimate partner (18 USC § 922(g)(8));   

 
 

OTHER PROTECTIONS 
 

 Ordering the respondent not to sell or hide property that the court 
identifies; 
 

 Ordering treatment or counseling; 
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 Telling a law-enforcement agency to search for and seize the 
respondent’s firearms (in many cases, this is a required part of the 
order); 

 
 Requiring the respondent to be evaluated, undergo treatment or 

attend counseling. 
 

NOTE: a court can issue an order for something not on this list as 
well.  The petitioner can ask for anything else that he or she thinks 
will protect his or her safety or the safety of a child. If the request is 
not in the petition, the court might not be able to consider it on the 
day of the hearing.  So, it is very important that all requests for legal 
protections (relief) are included in the petition to ensure that the 
court may consider the request on the day of the scheduled hearing. 
 
 
VIOLENT CRIMES COMPENSATION 
 
A petitioner may also seek financial assistance or other resources 
from the Delaware Violent Crimes Compensation Board and the 
Victim’s Compensation Assistance Program for losses suffered 
because of domestic violence or financial resources for counseling 
or other services. Available at 
https://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/vcap  
 
 

 
● How long does the PFA order last? 

 
o A PFA order can include a variety of protections.  Different types of 

protection last for different periods of time. The length of a PFA 
depends on the type of legal protections granted.  Court orders that 
require the respondent to stay away, refrain from further abuse, or 
relinquish firearms can remain in place for a year, two years, or even 

https://attorneygeneral.delaware.gov/vcap
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permanently, depending on the circumstances. [See below for more 
information on “PFA orders lasting longer.”]   
 

o Other legal protections in a PFA order such as child custody, support, 
possession of a residence, or use of personal property are temporary 
and last no longer than one year.  
 

o If there is a separate custody, visitation or support proceeding within 
the year, then the order from those proceedings will replace the 
temporary custody order in the PFA. 

 
o Some types of legal protections available in a PFA can last longer and 

can even be permanent. However, only as to the stay away, no contact, 
no abuse & firearms restrictions:  

 
 If the Commissioner finds that certain facts exist -- what the law 

calls “aggravating circumstances” -- then the order can last for 
as long as the court determines will best protect the abused 
person.  In these cases, orders can be made permanent. 
Here is the list of the things that can be considered “aggravating 
circumstances”:  

 
● Physical injury, especially if it’s serious, against the 

petitioner by the respondent; 
 

● The use of a deadly weapon or other dangerous instrument 
against the petitioner by the respondent;  
 

● A history of repeated violations of protective orders by the 
respondent; 
 

● Criminal convictions of the respondent for crimes against 
the petitioner; 
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● Exposing any member of the petitioner’s family or 
household to physical injury; 
 

● Any other act of abuse that creates “an immediate and 
ongoing danger.” 

 
 NOTE: It is important that any factors that apply are listed in the 

petition so that the court can consider those factors at the time 
of the hearing. 

 

6.  What happens if a PFA is violated? CALL 911 
 

o Violating a court order can have serious consequences. A PFA is 
registered in Delaware’s Criminal Justice Information System – which 
happens the day of or within a day of the hearing where it is issued. 
Anyone who violates a PFA Order may be arrested, if that person had 
notice of the PFA. That means if you have been granted a PFA order, 
you can call the police if you believe the order has been violated. You 
can also file a motion for contempt of court stating that the respondent 
has failed to follow the PFA order. The violator may then be taken into 
court, and once the violation is established, the penalties can be: 

 A finding of contempt (meaning that the PFA was not obeyed); 
 Criminal prosecution; and 
 Imprisonment, or fine, or both. 

o As just explained, the Petitioner can file a motion for contempt on his 
or her own, asking for a finding of contempt of court.  See Motion for 
Contempt of PFA Order Form 457. 
 

This project was supported by Grant No. 2014-FJ-AX-K004 awarded by the 
Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. Department of Justice. The opinions, 
findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this 
publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily 
reflect the views of the Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against 
Women.  
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PFA Hearing Day 
How Will The Case Proceed? 

Both Parties are present Only one party is present 

Case 
Continued 

Later 
 

If 
Respondent 
is not 
present, but 
has not been 
served with 
petition, or 
was not 
given notice 
of hearing. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

PFA Issued 
by Default 

 
 

If Respondent 
was served 
with the 
petition and 
received 
notice, but is 
not present. 
 
Order granted 
if Petitioner 
proves abuse 
by testifying to 
Commissioner 
about abuse. 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 

Case 
Dismissed 

 

Petitioner 
received 
notice of the 
hearing, but is 
not present.  
 

The case is 
over. Any 
temporary 
Order ends. 
 

Petitioner 
may be able to 
file a new 
petition in the 
future. 
 

Petitioner 
may request 
to have the 
PFA reopened 
for good 
cause. 

Consent 
 

Parties agree 
to a PFA 
Order 
requiring 
Respondent 
to refrain 
from future 
abuse, no or 
limited 
contact with 
Petitioner 
and may also 
include Court 
Orders for 
property, 
custody, 
support, 
treatment 
and 
surrender of 
weapon.  
(No finding 
of abuse by 
the Court) 

Case 
Continued 

 
One or both 
parties is not 
prepared for 
trial and 
provides a 
good reason 
for 
rescheduling. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Stipulation of 
Dismissal 

 
Petitioner no 
longer want to 
request a PFA 
Order. The 
case is 
dismissed. 
Any 
temporary 
Order ends. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Trial 
 

Petitioner 
must prove it 
is more likely 
than not that 
the 
Respondent 
committed 
abuse.  
 

The Court 
makes a 
finding of 
abuse and 
enters an 
Order. 
 

Or,  
 

There is not a 
finding of 
abuse and the 
case is 
dismissed. 
 

This project was supported by Grant No. 2014-FJ-AX-K004 awarded by the Office on Violence Against Women, U.S. 
Department of Justice. The opinions, findings, conclusions, and recommendations expressed in this 
publication/program/exhibition are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the Department of 
Justice, Office on Violence Against Women. 

 


