
MAKING THE TRUANCY 
COURT EXPERIENCE 

WORK FOR YOU 

♦ Maintain contact with the 
Visiting Teacher (VT). Your VT 
can help you with issues at 
school and in finding resources 
for your child. 

 
♦ Maintain contact with the 

Court. Truancy Court is 
structured to provide a setting 
where family supports and 
other resources can be 
identified and work together. 

 
♦ The Truancy Case Manager is 

available to answer any 
questions you might have. 

 
INCLEMENT WEATHER 

In the event of inclement/severe 
weather, please call the Court to 

confirm the status of your 
scheduled hearing. Due to case 

volume, the Court is unable to call 
defendants individually to notify 

them when cases have been 
continued/re-scheduled due to 

inclement/severe weather. 

CONTACTING YOUR 
TRUANCY COURT 

New Castle County 

JP Court #10 
210 Greenbank Road 

Wilmington, DE 19808 
302-995-8640 

Kent County 

JP Court #7 
480 Bank Lane 

Dover, DE 19904 
302-739-4554 

Sussex County 

JP Court #4 
408 Stein Highway 
Seaford, DE 19973 

302-629-5433

 
 
 
 

State of Delaware 
 
 
 
 
 

Justice of the Peace 
Truancy Court 

 
HELPFUL INFORMATION 

AND TIPS FOR 

NAVIGATING THE 

TRUANCY COURT 

PROCESS 



 
WHAT TO KEEP IN MIND 

 
♦ The date, time, and location of 

your arraignment is on the first 
page of your summons. 

 
♦ Your hearing will be at the 

Truancy Court in the county in 
which you are charged: 

 
NEW CASTLE COUNTY 

JP Court #10, Wilmington 
 

KENT COUNTY 

JP Court #7, Dover 
 

SUSSEX COUNTY 

JP Court #4, Seaford 
 
♦ If you find mistakes in your 

child’s attendance report, bring 
any necessary documentation 
to your hearing, such as notes 
from doctors or counselors. 

 
♦ According to Delaware Law, a 

student is considered “truant” 
if he/she has more than 3 
unexcused absences during the 
course of the school year. 

♦ According to Delaware Law, 
school districts must file truancy 
charges after a student has 
reached 20 unexcused absences. 

 
♦ Children under 12 years of age 

cannot be charged with truancy 
(failure to attend school). Only a 
parent can be charged if a child 
is under 12 years of age. 

 
♦ A truancy charge for a child 12 

years of age or over is a civil 
charge. 

 
♦ A truancy charge for a parent 

(failure to send a student to 
school) is a criminal charge. 

 

YOUR FIRST COURT APPEARANCE 
 
♦ Your first appearance in 

Truancy Court is an arraign- 
ment. The truancy charge will 
be explained, and you will be 
asked to enter a plea of “guilty” 
or “not guilty” (for adults) or 
“responsible” or “not responsi- 
ble” (for juveniles). 

 
♦ If you plead “not guilty” or “not 

responsible, your case will be 
scheduled for trial. 

 
AFTER ARRAIGNMENT/TRIAL 

 
♦ If you enter a plea of “guilty” 

or “responsible” at arraignment 
or are found “guilty or 
“responsible” at trial, your case 
will enter the “case review” 
process. 

 
♦ The purpose of the “case re- 

view” is to identify why a child 
is not attending school and 
work with the child and family 
to solve the problems. 

 
♦ Following each “case review,” 

the parent and/or child will be 
provided with a list of “bond 
conditions.” All defendants are 
required to comply with all 
Court-ordered conditions. 

 
♦ Bond orders include the date, 

time, and location of the next 
“case review.” 

 
♦ If you achieve “full compli- 

ance” with the Court, the 
original truancy charge will be 
cleared (expunged) from your 
record. 
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