## **ADMINISTRATIVE DIRECTIVE NO. 104**

This 9th day of February, 1996,

## IT APPEARS THAT:

1) On November 15, 1994, the Chief Justice, with the unanimous concurrence of the members of the Supreme Court, issued Administrative Directive 99 creating the Delaware Technology Coordinating Committee (the "Committee") and regulating the acquisition of technology.

2) The members of the Committee are to be commended for their excellent work and progress.

3) After consultation with the Chief Judges of the trial courts and with the Chair of the Committee, it is apparent that the Committee's work has not been completed and that the Committee, therefore, should continue in existence with some modifications as to structure and mission.

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS DIRECTED, with the unanimous concurrence of the members of the Supreme Court (*Del. Const.* art. IV, § 13) effective as of February 1, 1996, that:

1) The Committee is hereby reestablished to serve as an advisory committee to the Chief Justice on technology issues. The Committee will meet at least two times during the 1996 calendar year to discuss the current status of the planning process.

2) The following persons are appointed to serve as members of the Committee for a oneyear term commencing February 1, 1996, and ending on January 31, 1997: The Honorable E. Norman Veasey (Co-Chair), The Honorable Carolyn Berger (Co-Chair), The Honorable William T. Allen, The Honorable Henry duPont Ridgely, The Honorable Vincent J. Poppiti, The Honorable Arthur F. DiSabatino, The Honorable Alfred Fraczkowski, The Honorable Patricia W. Griffin, The Honorable Myron T. Steele, The Honorable William C. Carpenter, Jr., The Honorable Lawrence M. Sullivan, Michael R. Nardo, Stephen D. Taylor, The Honorable Richard C. Kiger, Thomas J. Ralston, Edward G. Pollard, Jr., Carole B. Kirshner, Thomas W. Nagle, T. Roger Barton, Michael E. McLaughlin, Kenneth Allen, Bernard H. Fisher, Bryan Sullivan, and Richard K. Herrmann, Esquire.

3) There shall be a Planning Subcommittee consisting of judges who are members of the Committee and designated by the Chief Judge of each court to serve on the Planning Subcommittee. The Planning Subcommittee shall make recommendations to the Chief Justice for the prioritization of technology projects, discuss common technology issues, and help develop a Strategic Plan. Justice Berger will Chair the Planning Subcommittee. Marianne Thompson, Systems Planner, will facilitate the work of the Subcommittee.

4) The Planning Subcommittee shall use its best efforts to complete the development of a Strategic Plan and present that plan for approval by the entire Committee no later than July 1,

1996. The approved plan shall be presented to the Chief Justice for final action.

5) There shall be a Tactical Subcommittee consisting of the Administrator or technical person designated by the Chief Judge of each court. The Tactical Subcommittee shall address the practical details of technology projects, and make recommendations to the Planning Subcommittee on issues related to project prioritization and the changing needs of end users. Michael E. McLaughlin will act as Chair of the Tactical Subcommittee. Marianne Thompson, Systems Planner, will facilitate the work of the Subcommittee.

6) The Chief Justice may designate additional persons to, or remove members from, the Committee or Subcommittees.

7) The minutes of all Subcommittee meetings will be promptly prepared and distributed to the members of the full Committee as soon as practicable after each Subcommittee meeting.

8) Until a Strategic Plan has been approved by the Chief Justice, as provided in paragraph 4 hereof, or such earlier or later time as the Chief Justice shall designate, the following protocol shall apply to technology acquisitions and the activities of the Judicial Information Center (JIC):

(a) Technology Acquisitions

All technology acquisition requests shall identify the items to be acquired, the costs and specific source of funding, the purposes for which the items will be used, and the installation, training and/or design modifications that will be needed to make use of the acquisition. If the acquisition will be replacing existing equipment or software, the request should identify the items that will be replaced and explain what use will be made of the old equipment. Michael E. McLaughlin shall be responsible for reviewing each request in a timely fashion and submitting it to the Co-Chairs with a recommendation for approval or disapproval. The Co-Chairs shall be responsible for approving or disapproving the request.

(b) Activities of the JIC

Michael E. McLaughlin shall provide the Co-Chairs with monthly status reports of the activities of the JIC; a description and evaluation of any new initiatives proposed by the JIC or any court; and a description of any new technology needs identified by any court. To the extent that the monthly status reports indicate the need to reprioritize any JIC activities, the Co-Chairs shall consult with Marianne Thompson and affected members of the Committee before taking action.

9) Upon approval of the Strategic Plan, the Chief Justice may establish standards and a protocol governing future acquisitions and activities of the JIC.

10) In view of the provisions of paragraph 8, there is no need for an Executive

Committee of the Technology Coordinating Committee and it will be discontinued.

11) This Administrative Directive supersedes Administrative Directive No. 99, dated November 15, 1994.

E. Norman Veasey CHIEF JUSTICE

cc: The Honorable Joseph T. Walsh The Honorable Randy J. Holland The Honorable Maurice A. Hartnett, III The Honorable Carolyn Berger Members of the Judicial Conference Mr. Lowell L. Groundland Court Administrators Clerk of the Supreme Court