The Delaware State Courts will be closed Monday, July 4, 2022 in observance of Independence Day. Justice of the Peace Courts 11 (New Castle County), 7 (Kent County), and 3 (Sussex County) will remain open.

Family Court Governance

Geographic Organization

The Family Court is a unified statewide Court with branches in New Castle County at Wilmington, Kent County at Dover, and Sussex County at Georgetown.

The Administrative Offices are located on the third floor of the New Castle County Courthouse in Wilmington.

Unit Structure

There is a Director of Court Operations for each county.

Each of the three court branches consist of the same basic unit structure and major functional areas. These are:

  • Judges' and Commissioners' Units
  • Case Processing
  • Records
  • Intake Services
  • Diversion Services
  • Security

The Administration Office is headed by the Court Administrator and supports the efforts of court operations in the following areas:

  • Operations
  • Fiscal Services
  • Human Resources
  • Special Court Services
  • Case Processing
  • Legal Affairs